BESTSELLERS

ROCKS by Joe Perry
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 7, 2014
Much like Aerosmith's career, this candid memoir will be cheered by fans, but rock critics will likely be underwhelmed. Read full book review >
THE LOST KEY by Catherine Coulter
THRILLERS
Released: Sept. 30, 2014
A thriller packed with nonstop action, real-life name-dropping and enough cutting-edge science to make you wonder how much of it could be true. Read full book review >

A SUDDEN LIGHT by Garth Stein

VERDICT: SKIP IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 30, 2014
A repetitive, poorly conceived work of pulp fiction. Frankly, we're stumped. Read full book review >
STATION ELEVEN by Emily St. John Mandel
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 9, 2014
Mandel's solid writing and magnetic narrative make for a strong combination in what should be a breakout novel. Read full book review >
NOT THAT KIND OF GIRL by Lena Dunham
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Sept. 30, 2014
Dunham shows flashes of the humor and sharp eye that make Girls so compelling, but the pleasure of watching the TV show doesn't translate to the page. Read full book review >

HOW WE GOT TO NOW by Steven Johnson
HISTORY
Released: Sept. 30, 2014
Of a piece with the work of Tracy Kidder, Henry Petroski and other popular explainers of technology and science—geeky without being overly so and literate throughout. Read full book review >
THE SENSE OF STYLE by Steven Pinker
ENTERTAINMENT & SPORTS
Released: Sept. 30, 2014
Fatter and more complex than Strunk and White, and some of the more technical arguments may make this a tough sell on the first-year comp front. Still, Pinker's vade mecum is a worthy addition to any writer's library. Read full book review >
REBEL YELL by S.C. Gwynne
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 21, 2014
A satisfying biography though less exhaustive in its approach than Robert Krick's Conquering the Valley (1996) and somewhat less fluent than James Robertson's Stonewall Jackson: The Man, the Soldier, the Legend (1997). Read full book review >
THE BOOK WITH NO PICTURES by B.J. Novak
Released: Sept. 30, 2014
A riotously fresh take on breaking the fourth wall. (Picture book. 3-8)Read full book review >
THE QUEEN OF ZOMBIE HEARTS by Gena Showalter
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Sept. 30, 2014
Funny, sexy, action-packed and tragic in all the right moments. (Horror/paranormal romance. 14 & up)Read full book review >
TO DWELL IN DARKNESS by Deborah Crombie
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 23, 2014
The midgrade mystery is enriched by a wealth of detail about St. Pancras' history and architecture that would do Margaret Truman proud. Read full book review >
A PATH APPEARS by Nicholas D. Kristof
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: Sept. 23, 2014
The authors deliver a profound message that packs a wallop. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Christian Rudder
author of DATACLYSM
October 30, 2014

Our personal data has been used to spy on us, hire and fire us, and sell us stuff we don’t need. In Dataclysm, Christian Rudder, the founder of OkCupid, uses it to show us who we truly are. For centuries, we’ve relied on polling or small-scale lab experiments to study human behavior. Today, a new approach is possible. As we live more of our lives online, researchers can finally observe us directly, in vast numbers, and without filters. Data scientists have become the new demographers. Are you a racist? Plainer-looking than you might wish? Inclined to vote left? Big data knows—and it’s talking. Demographers, entrepreneurs, students of history and sociology, and ordinary citizens alike will find plenty of provocations in Rudder’s book. We met up with Rudder at the Texas Book Festival. View video >