BESTSELLERS

RUSH REVERE AND THE BRAVE PILGRIMS by Rush Limbaugh
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Oct. 29, 2013
Exceptionally bad. (Fantasy. 8-12)Read full book review >
THE MAGICIAN'S LAND by Lev Grossman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
The essence of being a magician, as Quentin learns to define it, could easily serve as a thumbnail description of Grossman's art: "the power to enchant the world." Read full book review >

THE LOST ISLAND by Douglas Preston
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
Preston and Child keep an eye out for the legendary and introduce Cyclops, mystical humanoid, to stretch the boundaries of the action-adventure novel. Read full book review >
TOP SECRET by W.E.B. Griffin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
G-fans will not be disappointed. Read full book review >
IN THE KINGDOM OF ICE by Hampton Sides
HISTORY
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
A grand and grim narrative of thrilling exploration for fans of Into Thin Air, Mountains of the Moon and the like. Read full book review >

THE INVISIBLE BRIDGE by Rick Perlstein
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
A compelling, astute chronicle of the politics and culture of late-20th-century America. Read full book review >
THE NIXON DEFENSE by John W. Dean
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 29, 2014
Essential to anyone's library of Nixoniana. Read full book review >
PETE THE CAT by Eric Litwin
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 2, 2010
Pete may seem like an appealing role model to adults, but any child who has experienced the smirching of a new pair of shoes probably won't buy the cool he's peddling. (Picture book. 3-5)Read full book review >
LOOKING FOR ALASKA by John Green
Kirkus Star

VERDICT: BUY IT
FICTION
Released: March 1, 2005
Girls will cry and boys will find love, lust, loss and longing in Alaska's vanilla-and-cigarettes scent. (Fiction. YA) Read full book review >
BIG LITTLE LIES by Liane Moriarty
Kirkus Star

VERDICT: BUY IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 29, 2014
Deservedly popular Moriarty invigorates the tired social-issue formula of women's fiction through wit, good humor, sharp insight into human nature and addictive storytelling. Read full book review >
LUCKY US by Amy Bloom
Kirkus Star

VERDICT: BUY IT
Released: July 29, 2014
Bloom enlivens her story with understated humor as well as offbeat and unforgettable characters. Despite a couple of anachronisms, this is a hard-luck coming-of-age story with heart. Read full book review >
A SPY AMONG FRIENDS by Ben Macintyre
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 29, 2014
Gripping and as well-crafted as an episode of Smiley's People, full of cynical inevitability, secrets, lashings of whiskey and corpses. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Dick Cavett
October 20, 2014

In Brief Encounters: Conversations, Magic Moments, and Assorted Hijinks, quick-witted talk show host Dick Cavett dishes on some of the famous people he’s interviewed: There’s much ado about Marlene Dietrich, Groucho, Carson and the Burtons, Jonathan Winters, Mel Brooks and Stan Laurel. Brief Encounters, taken from Cavett’s online columns for The New York Times, offers piquant commentary on contemporary politics, the indignities of travel, the nature of comedy writing and the utter improbability of being alive at all. We’ll ask him about his career and his writing life on Kirkus TV this week. View video >