BESTSELLERS

INVISIBLE INFLUENCE by Jonah Berger
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: June 14, 2016
Of particular interest to those selling messages of various stripes—marketers, advertisers, etc. Read full book review >
THE RISE AND FALL OF NATIONS by Ruchir Sharma
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: June 7, 2016
Evenhanded, measured, sage advice on the global economy. Read full book review >

GRUNT by Mary Roach
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: June 7, 2016
Battlefield R&D is a topic too fascinating to ruin, so readers who can tolerate the author's relentless flippancy will not regret the experience. Read full book review >
BUT WHAT IF WE'RE WRONG? by Chuck Klosterman
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: June 7, 2016
Replete with lots of nifty, whimsical footnotes, this clever, speculative book challenges our beliefs with jocularity and perspicacity. Read full book review >
THE WORLD ACCORDING TO STAR WARS by Cass R. Sunstein
ENTERTAINMENT & SPORTS
Released: May 31, 2016
Certainly odd but also smart and interesting. For any student who wants to write a term paper on Star Wars, this book could serve as a rich resource. Read full book review >

THE VIEW FROM THE CHEAP SEATS by Neil Gaiman
ENTERTAINMENT & SPORTS
Released: May 31, 2016
Gaiman's many fans will love this collection, which showcases the author's wit, wisdom, and deep appreciation for art and the people who make it. Read full book review >
TRIBE by Sebastian Junger
HISTORY
Released: May 24, 2016
The themes implicit in the author's bestsellers are explicit in this slim yet illuminating volume. Read full book review >
32 YOLKS by Eric Ripert
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 17, 2016
It doesn't take a refined palate to savor Ripert's culinary adventures. Read full book review >
THE GENE by Siddhartha Mukherjee
HISTORY
Released: May 17, 2016
Sobering, humbling, and extraordinarily rich reading from a wise and gifted writer who sees how far we have come—but how much farther we have to go to understand our human nature and destiny. Read full book review >
THE SECRET WAR by Max Hastings
HISTORY
Released: May 10, 2016
A masterful account of wartime skulduggery that has relevance still today. Read full book review >
THE BIG PICTURE by Sean Carroll
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: May 10, 2016
A brilliantly lucid exposition of profound philosophical and scientific issues in a language accessible to lay readers. Read full book review >
VALIANT AMBITION by Nathaniel Philbrick
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 10, 2016
A lively account of our Revolution's most reviled figure. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Swan Huntley
June 27, 2016

In Swan Huntley’s debut novel We Could Be Beautiful, Catherine West has spent her entire life surrounded by beautiful things. She owns an immaculate Manhattan apartment, she collects fine art, she buys exquisite handbags and clothing, and she constantly redecorates her home. And yet, despite all this, she still feels empty. One night, at an art opening, Catherine meets William Stockton, a handsome man who shares her impeccable taste and love of beauty. He is educated, elegant, and even has a personal connection—his parents and Catherine's parents were friends years ago. But as he and Catherine grow closer, she begins to encounter strange signs, and her mother, Elizabeth (now suffering from Alzheimer’s), seems to have only bad memories of William as a boy. In Elizabeth’s old diary she finds an unnerving letter from a former nanny that cryptically reads: “We cannot trust anyone . . . “ Is William lying about his past? “Huntley’s debut stands out not for its thrills but rather for her hawkish eye for social detail and razor-sharp wit,” our reviewer writes. “An intoxicating escape; as smart as it is fun.” View video >