BESTSELLERS

IN THE KINGDOM OF ICE by Hampton Sides
HISTORY
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
A grand and grim narrative of thrilling exploration for fans of Into Thin Air, Mountains of the Moon and the like. Read full book review >
THE INVISIBLE BRIDGE by Rick Perlstein
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
A compelling, astute chronicle of the politics and culture of late-20th-century America. Read full book review >

THE NIXON DEFENSE by John W. Dean
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 29, 2014
Essential to anyone's library of Nixoniana. Read full book review >
A SPY AMONG FRIENDS by Ben Macintyre
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 29, 2014
Gripping and as well-crafted as an episode of Smiley's People, full of cynical inevitability, secrets, lashings of whiskey and corpses. Read full book review >
THE MOCKINGBIRD NEXT DOOR by Marja Mills
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 15, 2014
The sisters' trust that Mills was not a gossip is borne out in this charming portrait of a small Southern town and its most famous resident. Read full book review >

FACTORY MAN by Beth Macy
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 15, 2014
A masterly feat of reporting. Read full book review >
CAPITAL IN THE TWENTY-FIRST CENTURY by Thomas Piketty
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: March 10, 2014
Essential reading for citizens of the here and now. Other economists should marvel at how that plain language can be put to work explaining the most complex of ideas, foremost among them the fact that economic inequality is at an all-time high—and is only bound to grow worse. Read full book review >
DIARY OF A MAD DIVA by Joan Rivers

VERDICT: SKIP IT
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 1, 2014
Readers who never tire of Rivers and her distinctive take on the world will lap up the newest entree from the octogenarian comedian. Others will want to take a pass. Read full book review >
HOW NOT TO BE WRONG by Jordan Ellenberg
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: June 3, 2014
Witty and expansive, Ellenberg's math will leave readers informed, intrigued and armed with plenty of impressive conversation starters. Read full book review >
HARD CHOICES by Hillary Clinton

VERDICT: BORROW IT
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 10, 2014
Unsurprising but perfectly competent and seamlessly of a piece with her Living History (2003). And will Hillary run? The guiding metaphor of the book is the relay race, and there's a sense that if the torch is handed to her, well…. Read full book review >
GOOD TALK, DAD by Bill Geist
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 20, 2014
Heavy on bad-boy behavior and sports, the book should come with a six-pack of cheap beer. A quick read that is not for everyone. Read full book review >
THE ROMANOV SISTERS by Helen Rappaport
HISTORY
Released: June 3, 2014
A gossipy, revealing story of the doomed Russian family's fairy tale life told by an expert in the field. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Gregg Hurwitz
author of DON'T LOOK BACK
August 18, 2014

Bestselling thriller writer Hurwitz adds to his string of imaginative novels with Don't Look Back, an action-adventure story ready for blockbuster Hollywood. We talk to Hurwitz about the Mexican setting of the novel and how he keeps readers turning pages. View video >