MEET THE BIGFEET by Kevin Sherry
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Good-hearted fun—great for fans of Kit Feeny and Babymouse. (Graphic/fantasy hybrid. 7-10)"
It's a Bigfeet family reunion! Read full book review >
DEAD IN THE WATER by Chris Lynch
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Satisfied readers will look forward to the next volume in this worthy, low-key but piquant series. (Historical fiction. 10-14)"
In this second volume of his series on World War II (The Right Fight, 2014), Lynch turns his raw-boned storytelling talents to the Pacific theater. Read full book review >

THE MADMAN OF PINEY WOODS by Christopher Paul Curtis
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Beautiful storytelling as only Curtis can do it. (author's note) (Historical fiction. 9-13)"
Forty years after Elijah Freeman's exploits in Elijah of Buxton (2007), 13-year-olds Benji Alston and Red Stockard become friends as Curtis revisits Buxton, Ontario, in a fine companion novel. Read full book review >
FALL OF HEROES by Jeramey Kraatz
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Dangers, debacles and superhuman feats galore, with a light brush of applied satire and enough resolution to serve. (Fantasy. 11-13)"
Teenage superheroes square off against supervillain parents in this action-packed, if misleadingly (or at least metaphorically) titled, trilogy closer. Read full book review >
THE EMERALD SHORE by Barbara Mariconda
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"A grand and a good finale for Lucy et al. (Historical fantasy. 8-12)"
Lucy and her family and friends conclude their saga in an Ireland of foggy mists and sparkling rainbows. Read full book review >

LION, LION by Miriam Busch
by Miriam Busch, illustrated by Larry Day
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Sly, dark humor for little ones—at its best. (Picture book. 4-7)"
Readers must pay careful attention to both the words and the pictures in this quirky, humorous book about a boy who is shouting out, "Lion!" and a lion who is hungry. Read full book review >
THE STORM WHALE by Benji Davies
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Replete with both peaceful charm and a sense of wonder, this is a selection children will embrace and come back to time and time again. (Picture book. 3-8)"
The story of a very unusual friendship. Read full book review >
THE ANGEL TREE by Daphne Benedis-Grab
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"A light holiday read with little mystery or development but a lot of happy endings. (Fiction. 8-11)"
This quick tale of generosity is as warm and simple as a Christmas postcard. Read full book review >
BURIED SUNLIGHT by Molly Bang
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Gorgeous illustrations and impressive, urgent scientific explanation. (Nonfiction.7-12)"
This fourth in Chisholm and Bang's series about the sun's relationship to life on Earth explores its ancient stores of fossil fuels and the effect of intense and rapid consumption of these in recent human history. Read full book review >
FAMOUS LAST WORDS by Katie Alender
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"A compelling supernatural thriller. (Paranormal mystery. 12-16)"
Willa uses her mysterious ability to communicate with the beyond to track a murdering psychopath. Read full book review >
SPARKERS by Eleanor Glewwe
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"A compelling story on a difficult topic, addressed with maturity and grace. (Fantasy. 10-15)"
A fantasy debut grapples thoughtfully with all-too-mundane evil. Read full book review >
DELIVERY OF DOOM by Dan Yaccarino
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Sept. 30, 2014

"Readers with quirky senses of humor can look forward to being surprised—and then surprised again a few paragraphs later. (Science fiction. 8-12)"
There's a party game writers play from time to time. They'll try to improvise a story based on the objects in front of them in the room. If Yaccarino was playing that game, he got carried away and threw every item in his house into this story. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Lauren Oliver
author of ROOMS
September 29, 2014

Lauren Oliver is known for her best-selling young adult novels (including the Delirium trilogy) but her new novel Rooms is her first written for adults. We ask her about making the transition, finding new readers, and writing a ghost story. Rooms actually has two story lines that nicely collide: First, a ghost story in which the ghosts can’t leave the house but don’t know why. Second, an estranged family story in which the ex-husband dies, leaving his alcoholic ex-wife, angry daughter and disaffected teen son to clean out their former home, not knowing that it's haunted. We go ghost-hunting with Lauren Oliver this week at Kirkus TV. View video >