AND AWAY WE GO! by Migy
by Migy, illustrated by Migy
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Oct. 28, 2014

"The mood is the same as a pajama storytime or a trip in the car just at bedtime—exciting yet contained and comforting. (Picture book. 2-5)"
An urbane, adventuresome fox provides an evening's entertainment for an eclectic company in this nighttime escapade aloft. Read full book review >
BORN IN THE WILD by Lita Judge
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Oct. 21, 2014

"Warmly friendly and inviting for a wide range of ages. (Informational picture book. 2-8)"
Small humans whose parents read to them will find fellow feeling with the well-cared-for wild babies in these pages. Read full book review >

LADYBUG GIRL READY FOR SNOW by David Soman
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Oct. 16, 2014

"A short, sweet tale introducing the concept of snow while celebrating the small joys of life in imaginative and joyful Ladybug Girl style. (Board book. 2-5)"
A Ladybug Girl adventure for her littlest fans, this one features a romp in the snow. Read full book review >
THREE LITTLE OWLS by Emanuele Luzzati
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"Happy nonsense that feels very British despite its Italian origins. (Picture book. 2-5)"
The irrepressible Blake supplies illustrations for Yeoman's English translation of the late Luzzati's rhyming verses, "Filastrocca di Natale." Read full book review >
DON'T by Litsa Trochatos
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"Great for one-on-one sharing or for inciting a room full of giggles at storytime, though developmentally, it reaches beyond the traditional board-book audience. (Board book. 2-6)"
You have to be careful around animals, you know, or things can get crazy—fast. Read full book review >

FOX ON THE LOOSE! by Matthew Porter
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"Here's hoping Porter gets paired up with a writer equal to his visual talents. (Board book. 18 mos.-3)"
A fox is stymied in his nocturnal prowling by a bevy of noisy barnyard animals. Read full book review >
NAPTIME by Iris de Moüy
by Iris de Moüy, illustrated by Iris de Moüy, translated by Shelley Tanaka
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Oct. 14, 2014

"A lovely, if wakeful, bedtime book from France. (Picture book. 2-5)"
A little girl persuades a menagerie of animals to take a nap. Read full book review >
I LOVE MY HAT by Douglas Florian
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"A repetitive picture book that struggles to be interesting. (Picture book. 2-5)"
Lively illustrations stand out in this rustic tale. Read full book review >
GOD BLESS OUR CHRISTMAS by Hannah C. Hall
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"Undemanding and upbeat, this is an adequate offering to share with toddlers in households that want to keep the Christ in Christmas. (Board book. 2-4)"
Rhyming, four-line stanzas celebrate Christmas in both secular and religious aspects. Read full book review >
SPARKLING PRINCESS OPPOSITES by Lisa Perrett
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"While not groundbreaking in style or substance, these simple titles will nonetheless appeal to those toddlers (or parents) already besotted with all things stately and sparkly. (Board book. 1-3)"
A shiny, fairy-tale-themed concept book for toddlers. Read full book review >
HELLO, AIRPLANE! by Bill Cotter
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"A nice choice for those who love planes or who are about to fly for the first time. (Picture book. 2-5)"
It's time to fly! Read full book review >
TIME FOR A BATH by Phillis Gershator
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: Oct. 7, 2014

"Will the book convince a child that bathtime is a happy time? It won't take many reads to get them to want to try and find out. (Picture book. 2-4)"
Gershator and Walker's bunnies from Time for a Hug (co-authored by Mim Green, 2013) return to explore the seasons and reasons for bathtime. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Christian Rudder
author of DATACLYSM
October 30, 2014

Our personal data has been used to spy on us, hire and fire us, and sell us stuff we don’t need. In Dataclysm, Christian Rudder, the founder of OkCupid, uses it to show us who we truly are. For centuries, we’ve relied on polling or small-scale lab experiments to study human behavior. Today, a new approach is possible. As we live more of our lives online, researchers can finally observe us directly, in vast numbers, and without filters. Data scientists have become the new demographers. Are you a racist? Plainer-looking than you might wish? Inclined to vote left? Big data knows—and it’s talking. Demographers, entrepreneurs, students of history and sociology, and ordinary citizens alike will find plenty of provocations in Rudder’s book. We met up with Rudder at the Texas Book Festival. View video >