History Book Reviews

ONCE A HUSSAR by Ray Ellis
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"Readers will yearn for the sequel, Always a Hussar, not yet published in the United States."
Not a reprint or a lost manuscript but a freshly written, top-notch memoir by a former British artilleryman now in his 90s. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"A grand and grim narrative of thrilling exploration for fans of Into Thin Air, Mountains of the Moon and the like."
Another crackling tale of adventure from journalist/explorer Sides (Hellhound on His Trail: The Stalking of Martin Luther King, Jr. and the International Hunt for His Assassin, 2010, etc.), this one focusing on a frigid disaster nearly 150 years ago. Read full book review >

THE INVISIBLE BRIDGE by Rick Perlstein
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"A compelling, astute chronicle of the politics and culture of late-20th-century America."
How Ronald Reagan lost the presidency and won the heart of America. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"A profound historical portrait of Paris for anyone who loves the city."
An exploration of "what it would have been like to be [in Paris] under the German Occupation during the Second World War." Read full book review >
GLOBAL MUCKRAKING by Anya Schiffrin
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Aug. 5, 2014

"The incredible amount of work that Schiffrin put into the selection of the articles and those who explain them makes this a top-notch anthology of significant journalism."
This is no mere collection of exposés. It is a global look at the 20th-century writers who have dared to uncover stories of injustice and abuse. Read full book review >

THE NIXON DEFENSE by John W. Dean
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 29, 2014

"Essential to anyone's library of Nixoniana."
About that 18-and-a-half minutes of lost tape…. Read full book review >
A SPY AMONG FRIENDS by Ben Macintyre
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 29, 2014

"Gripping and as well-crafted as an episode of Smiley's People, full of cynical inevitability, secrets, lashings of whiskey and corpses."
A tale of espionage, alcoholism, bad manners and the chivalrous code of spies—the real world of James Bond, that is, as played out by clerks and not superheroes. Read full book review >
THE NIXON TAPES by Douglas Brinkley
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 29, 2014

"Essential for students of the era and fascinating for those who lived it."
An eye-opening reckoning of crimes, misdemeanors and bugging technology 40 years after Richard Nixon's ignominious departure from the White House. Read full book review >
MICHELANGELO by Miles J. Unger
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 22, 2014

"Unger's edged prose shows us a clear Michelangelo emerging from the stone of history."
Art historian and journalist Unger (Machiavelli, 2011, etc.) organizes his life of Michelangelo by focusing on six masterpieces of varying media that compose the pillars of his creative life. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 21, 2014

"An unforgettable book."
The harrowing story of two brilliant immunologists, one Christian, one Jewish, who were separated during World War II yet found heroic ways to turn their typhus vaccine research against the Nazis. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: July 15, 2014

"Corrigan matches fascinating battle descriptions with accounts of how wars were financed and fought, as well as the Byzantine politics and mostly unpleasant personalities that conducted them."
Bloodshed makes for entertaining history, and military historian Corrigan (The Second World War: A Military History, 2009, etc.) takes full advantage. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: July 8, 2014

"A delightful, detailed chronicle of great men (and a rare woman) whose fascination with the night sky and the technology necessary to study it led to today's dramatic discoveries."
Photography, not computers, ushered in modern astronomy. Here, its bumpy evolution is in the expert hands of Harvard College Observatory associate Hirshfeld (Physics/Univ. of Mass. Dartmouth; Eureka Man: The Life and Legacy of Archimedes, 2009, etc.). Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Gregg Hurwitz
author of DON'T LOOK BACK
August 18, 2014

Bestselling thriller writer Hurwitz adds to his string of imaginative novels with Don't Look Back, an action-adventure story ready for blockbuster Hollywood. We talk to Hurwitz about the Mexican setting of the novel and how he keeps readers turning pages. View video >