Thrillers Book Reviews

LIVIA LONE by Barry Eisler
Released: Oct. 25, 2016

"Filled with raw power, this may be the darkest thriller of the year."
An explosive thriller that plunges into the sewer of human smuggling. Read full book review >
EVERY MAN A MENACE by Patrick Hoffman
Released: Oct. 4, 2016

"With its hard-boiled shenanigans and soft-minded crooks, Hoffman's follow-up to The White Van (2014) is another strong and original addition to the crime fiction genre."
How many drug dealers, dirty cops, lowlifes, and hapless victims does it take to screw up a $50 million shipment of the drug Ecstasy? When the assorted players are as desperate or dumb as the cast of this bleakly amusing, noir-saturated saga, even more than you might think. Read full book review >

Released: Sept. 27, 2016

"Fans of twisted thrillers featuring complex female characters will devour Moretti's latest."
A woman tries to hide—and outrun—her past in this fast-paced thriller from Moretti (Binds That Tie, 2014, etc.). Read full book review >
DAISY IN CHAINS by Sharon Bolton
Released: Sept. 20, 2016

"No detail should be missed, no nuance overlooked in Bolton's chilling tale of a master manipulator who leaves nothing to chance."
A serial killer bids for freedom with the aid of an unconventional lawyer. Read full book review >
BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré."
Another morally and emotionally fraught thriller from British writer Doughty (Apple Tree Yard, 2014, etc.), this one about an operative for an Amsterdam-based black-ops organization grappling with fallout from his personal and professional history in Indonesia. Read full book review >

RAZOR GIRL by Carl Hiaasen
Released: Sept. 6, 2016

"Relax, enjoy, and marvel anew at the power of unbridled fictional invention."
Rejoice, fans of American madness who've sought fulfillment in political reportage. South Florida's master farceur (Skink—No Surrender, 2014, etc.) is back to reassure you that fiction is indeed stranger than truth. Read full book review >
THE ONE MAN by Andrew Gross
Released: Aug. 23, 2016

"This is Gross' best work yet, with his heart and soul imprinted on every page."
The author of One Mile Under (2015) changes genres with a heart-pounding thriller set in the bowels of Auschwitz. Read full book review >
RISE THE DARK by Michael Koryta
Released: Aug. 16, 2016

"Again proving himself one of today's top thriller writers, Koryta creates edgy suspense not with trickery but with characters who test the limits of their courage."
Having escaped certain death in Indiana's scariest caves in Last Words (2015), private investigator Mark Novak returns to his old haunts in Montana in pursuit of the man who murdered his wife in Cassadaga, Florida—a strange town known for its psychics. Read full book review >
God of the Internet by Lynn Lipinski
Released: Aug. 16, 2016

"A deadly and exhilarating game of cat and mouse that has all the makings of an engaging series about fighting terrorists."
Homeland Security agents rush to prevent large-scale cyberwarfare in this thriller. Read full book review >
Identity Crisis by H.E. Rodda
Released: Aug. 16, 2016

"A thoughtful tale of mistaken identity, fraud, sex, murder, and transcendent friendship."
The Prince and the Pauper gets turned on its head in this rags-to-riches thriller. Read full book review >
THE WIDOWER'S WIFE by Cate Holahan
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"The result is one of those rare thrillers that really will keep you reading all night, especially if you pack it to take on your next Caribbean cruise."
A dogged insurance investigator suspects that a perfect wife's accidental death was anything but. He doesn't know the half of it. Read full book review >
YOU WILL KNOW ME by Megan Abbott
Released: July 26, 2016

"Abbott proves herself a master of fingernails-digging-into-your-palms suspense."
Abbott's latest thriller (The Fever, 2014, etc.) is about everyday lives changed forever by an exceptional individual—in this case an Olympic gymnastics hopeful. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Maria Goodavage
October 24, 2016

Wherever the president goes, there will be dogs. They’ll be there no matter what the country or state. They’ll be there regardless of the political climate, the danger level, the weather, or the hour. Maria Goodavage’s new book Secret Service Dogs immerses readers in the heart of this elite world of canine teams who protect first families, popes, and presidential candidates: the selection of dogs and handlers, their year-round training, their missions around the world, and, most important, the bond—the glue that holds the teams together and can mean the difference between finding bombs and terrorists or letting them slip by. Secret Service Dogs celebrates the Secret Service’s most unforgettable canine heroes. It is a must-read for fans of Maria Goodavage, anyone who wants a rare inside view of the United States Secret Service, or just loves dogs. “Goodavage’s subjects and their companions are quirky and dedicated enough to engage readers wondering about those dogs on the White House lawn,” our reviewer writes. View video >