True Crime Book Reviews (page 5)

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 19, 2015

"A highly readable, entertaining story offering a solid education for anyone lacking scruples and wanting to make money. Surely Bernie Madoff studied Koretz's methods."
The granddaddy of all con men, Leo Koretz (1881-1925), gives Jobb (Journalism/Univ. of King's Coll., Halifax; The Cajuns: A People's Story of Exile and Triumph, 2005) the opportunity to exhibit his impressive research and storytelling skills.Read full book review >
CRIMINAL THAT I AM by Jennifer Ridha
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 12, 2015

"Acknowledging the balance between her heart and head, Ridha amply demonstrates what can happen when the balance is upset."
Defending the son of a famous actor, a defense attorney finds herself entangled in the case emotionally as well as legally. Read full book review >

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"Other than spies, this book has little in common with spy thrillers, but it's just as captivating."
The uncommon family business of selling information to Russia proves exciting, lucrative and remarkably misguided. Read full book review >
The Golden Arrow by Lloyd Richardson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: April 30, 2015

"A sound sophomore effort with enough espionage fuel to power a future entry in the series."
Two intelligence agents from the United States and India, respectively, work together to stop Iran from launching a nuclear missile at Israel in Richardson's (Dragon's Paw, 2012) political thriller. Read full book review >
Versace’s Medusa: Andrew Cunanan by C. T. Patrick Diamond
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 29, 2015

"A sometimes-entertaining but often overblown and under-imagined fictionalized treatment of an enigmatic crime."
The devil made Andrew Cunanan do it, according to this unfocused novel and meditation on the man who murdered fashion designer Gianni Versace. Read full book review >

THE GOLDEN AGE OF MURDER by Martin Edwards
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"Fans of Father Brown, Hercule Poirot, or Lord Peter Wimsey will find much of value in this book—which, though long and sometimes too slow, leaves readers wanting more."
Engrossing if occasionally glacial study of the Detection Club, a gathering of British mystery writers who defined the genre. Read full book review >
HOPE by Amanda Berry
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 27, 2015

"A nuanced testament to the complexity of the human spirit."
On May 6, 2013, electrifying headlines revealed news of the escape of three young women who had been missing for more than 10 years and presumed dead but were in fact held captive by Ariel Castro, a depraved Cleveland school bus driver. Read full book review >
THE JOB by Steve Osborne
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 21, 2015

"Despite their anecdotal nature, these punchy policing tales seem provocatively true to life."
Raucous recollections from a career as a New York City cop, from a veteran of The Moth storytelling series. Read full book review >
ONE OF US by Åsne Seierstad
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: April 21, 2015

"Rather diffuse but thoroughly grounded in documented fact—as a result, it packs all the frightening power of a good horror novel."
A chilling descent into the mind of mass murderer Anders Breivik. Read full book review >
TRUE CRIME
Released: April 14, 2015

"For a wide-angle view of the horrific string of crimes start to finish, Glatt constructs an absorbing winner."
Journalist and seasoned true-crime writer Glatt (The Prince of Paradise: The True Story of a Hotel Heir, His Seductive Wife, and a Ruthless Murder, 2013, etc.) recounts the highly publicized story of three women kidnapped and held in captivity for a decade.Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 8, 2015

"A classically riveting crime tale, all the more fascinating for being true."
This historical crime debut details the life of a white-collar criminal who fled the United States for Venezuela in the early 20th century. Read full book review >
SALTWATER COWBOY by Tim McBride
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 7, 2015

"An up-and-down true story about a time and place that has inspired plenty of fiction."
A saga of big risk and big reward within the romanticized pirate life of marijuana smugglers along the Florida Coast. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Michael Eric Dyson
February 2, 2016

In Michael Eric Dyson’s rich and nuanced book new book, The Black Presidency: Barack Obama and the Politics of Race in America, Dyson writes with passion and understanding about Barack Obama’s “sad and disappointing” performance regarding race and black concerns in his two terms in office. While race has defined his tenure, Obama has been “reluctant to take charge” and speak out candidly about the nation’s racial woes, determined to remain “not a black leader but a leader who is black.” Dyson cogently examines Obama’s speeches and statements on race, from his first presidential campaign through recent events—e.g., the Ferguson riots and the eulogy for the Rev. Clementa Pinckney in Charleston—noting that the president is careful not to raise the ire of whites and often chastises blacks for their moral failings. At his best, he spoke with “special urgency for black Americans” during the Ferguson crisis and was “at his blackest,” breaking free of constraints, in his “Amazing Grace” Charleston eulogy. Dyson writes here as a realistic, sometimes-angry supporter of the president. View video >