Fiction & Literature Book Reviews (page 9)

EVERYTHING UNDER THE MOON by Jeff Johnson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A briskly paced, splatter-filled crime novel to delight fans of directors Tarantino and Rodriguez."
A murderous, thieving werewolf gets tripped up plying his trade when he's co-opted by a shadowy cabal. Read full book review >
FATES AND TRAITORS by Jennifer Chiaverini
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Engaging, sweeping historical fiction that complicates politics by teasing out the domestic and romantic repercussions of treason."
On April 14, 1865, John Wilkes Booth assassinated President Abraham Lincoln. But how did Booth come to such a point? And how did his loved ones miss the warning signs? Read full book review >

THE SOUND OF SEAS by Gillian  Anderson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Ideas that looked thin for a single book stretched beyond all reasonable elasticity."
Final part of the X-Files-ish trilogy (A Dream of Ice, 2015, etc.) about contact with an ancient civilization now buried under the Antarctic ice. Read full book review >
THE SLEEPING WORLD by Gabrielle Lucille Fuentes
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A muddled novel about political unrest with a narrator who slouches toward adulthood with her feet dragging behind."
A quartet of politicized Spanish students hits the road during the heady summer of 1977. Read full book review >
COMMONWEALTH by Ann Patchett
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A satisfying meat-and-potatoes domestic novel from one of our finest writers."
Two families are fused, atomized, and reconfigured by a stolen kiss, a child's death, and a bestselling novel. Read full book review >

BLACK WATER by Louise Doughty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Powerful, probing fiction in the tradition of Graham Greene and John le Carré."
Another morally and emotionally fraught thriller from British writer Doughty (Apple Tree Yard, 2014, etc.), this one about an operative for an Amsterdam-based black-ops organization grappling with fallout from his personal and professional history in Indonesia. Read full book review >
EVERY KIND OF WANTING by Gina Frangello
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Fans of Frangello's work will enjoy this intricate portrait of the connections between an immigrant Latino family and moneyed North Shore magnates."
A twisted novel of family—the kinds we're stuck with and the kinds we make—which poses big questions about love, fidelity, and parenthood. Read full book review >
ALUTA by Adwoa Badoe
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"As revolutions go, this is a rather dull one. (Historical fiction. 14 & up)"
As author and storyteller Badoe chronicles 18-year-old first-year political science student Charlotte Adom's college life at the University of Science and Technology in Kumasi, Ghana, it's one of studying hard, eating home-cooked meals between classes—and dating. Read full book review >
AN OBVIOUS FACT by Craig Johnson
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"Plenty of action, humor, and literary allusions drive the story to a bang-up conclusion. Johnson (Dry Bones, 2015, etc.) never disappoints."
The collision of biker gangs, a millionaire, numerous belligerent drunks, and an aging biker chick stirs up one nasty mess. Read full book review >
THE FOURTH FIGURE by Pieter Aspe
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"The Satanists remain unsatisfyingly shadowy to the bitter end, but Aspe provides both a wholly unexpected culprit and the perfect setup for the moment in which his police hero finally becomes a father."
The fourth case of Bruges Commissioner Pieter Van In to reach these shores, originally published in Belgium in 1998, pins the raffish cop between a covey of Satanists and a very pregnant wife. Read full book review >
THE TEA PLANTER'S WIFE by Dinah Jefferies
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A melodrama of the waning British Empire."
A young English wife becomes the mistress of a tea plantation in Ceylon and is quickly confronted with upheavals—racial, social, and domestic—in Jefferies' U.S. debut. Read full book review >
CHILDREN OF THE NEW WORLD by Alexander  Weinstein
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 13, 2016

"A cleverly wrought, if moralistic, group of tales."
Thirteen stories illuminating the dangers of a tech-obsessed future. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Melissa Sweet
author of SOME WRITER!
September 26, 2016

“SOME PIG,” Charlotte the spider’s praise for Wilbur, is just one fondly remembered snippet from E. B. White’s Charlotte’s Web. In Some Writer!, two-time Caldecott Honor winner and 2014 Kirkus Prize finalist Melissa Sweet mixes White’s personal letters, photos, and family ephemera with her own exquisite artwork to tell his story, from his birth in 1899 to his death in 1985. Budding young writers will be fascinated and inspired by the journalist, New Yorker contributor, and children’s book author who loved words his whole life. This authorized tribute is the first fully illustrated biography of E. B. White and includes an afterword by Martha White, E. B. White's granddaughter. “Like Charlotte, Sweet spins a terrific story,” our reviewer writes in a starred review. “A masterful biography that will enchant young readers.” View video >