Nature & Travel Book Reviews (page 3)

UTOPIA DRIVE by Erik Reece
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"Compelling narratives with a personal voice, with some utopian political bite."
A journalist and author drives his truck around the East visiting utopian communities—past and present—and concludes we need to think more like those folks. Read full book review >
VENOMOUS by Christie Wilcox
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: Aug. 9, 2016

"Wilcox writes in a lively style, but the book is likely of greatest interest to those already drawn to the subject."
How the creatures that embody some of mankind's deepest fears use toxic substances to defend themselves against predators and to prey on the creatures they eat—and why this is important to us today. Read full book review >

LANDMARKS by Robert Macfarlane
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"Lucent, lyrical prose evokes Macfarlane's aesthetic, ethical, and powerfully tactile response to nature's enchantments."
A prizewinning naturalist explores the connection between what we say and how we see. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 2, 2016

"A pleasing romp: punk in attitude but literary in execution and a fine work of armchair travel for those unwilling to strap on an accordion on the streets of Rostov for themselves."
Want to see the seamy side of a country? Go on tour as a rock musician. Read full book review >
WILD SEX by Carin Bondar
NATURE & TRAVEL
Released: Aug. 1, 2016

"A fascinating peek into the intimate behavior of our animal cousins that provides new insight into the benefits of being human."
A lively exploration of "the nitty-gritty of the diverse sex life of animals." Read full book review >

LOVE AND RUIN by Evan Ratliff
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: July 26, 2016

"An eclectic, never-boring collection."
Atavist magazine editor Ratliff brings together 10 pieces of journalism selected from the site's five-year history. Read full book review >
AND SOON I HEARD A ROARING WIND by Bill Streever
HISTORY
Released: July 26, 2016

"Streever has a knack for blending his research and personal experience into an easy-to-read account that is hard to put down. Recommended for general readers curious about the natural world as well as budding scientists."
Science, history, and personal adventure come together in a wild and witty exploration of wind. Read full book review >
WATER IN PLAIN SIGHT by Judith D. Schwartz
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: July 26, 2016

"Some demanding passages require perseverance on the part of general readers, but the stories that surround them are important and rewarding."
The bad news is that the world's water, carbon, and energy cycles are out of whack; the good news is that solutions to these problems are within reach. Read full book review >
THE MAN WHO MADE THINGS OUT OF TREES by Robert Penn
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 26, 2016

"An appreciative, environmentally sound reminder of how trees benefit and cultivate life on Earth."
A lifelong nature lover explores the versatility of the ash tree. Read full book review >
THE FERMENTED MAN by Derek Dellinger
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 19, 2016

"The author hopes his intriguing experiments will open eyes and palates to the culinary and health benefits of fermented foods."
A quest to live for a year on "100 percent…fermented meals and fermented drinks." Read full book review >
SIXTY DEGREES NORTH by Malachy Tallack
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 15, 2016

"An enthralling meditation on place."
A longing for home sends the author around the world. Read full book review >
WALKING WITH PLATO by Gary Hayden
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 12, 2016

"Enthusiastic but lackluster travel writing."
An English journalist's account of his three-month summer walking tour of Great Britain. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jeff Chang
September 20, 2016

In the provocative essays in journalist Jeff Chang’s new book We Gon’ Be Alright, Chang takes an incisive and wide-ranging look at the recent tragedies and widespread protests that have shaken the country. Through deep reporting with key activists and thinkers, personal writing, and cultural criticism, We Gon’ Be Alright links #BlackLivesMatter to #OscarsSoWhite, Ferguson to Washington D.C., the Great Migration to resurgent nativism. Chang explores the rise and fall of the idea of “diversity,” the roots of student protest, changing ideas about Asian Americanness, and the impact of a century of racial separation in housing. “He implores readers to listen, act, and become involved with today’s activists, who offer ‘new ways to see our past and our present,’ ” our reviewer writes in a starred review. “A compelling and intellectually thought-provoking exploration of the quagmire of race relations.” View video >