Science & Technology Book Reviews (page 5)

STRANGER IN THE MIRROR by Robert V. Levine
PSYCHOLOGY
Released: June 1, 2016

"A provocative and convincing case of the malleability of what we think of as 'our self, which in reality is a multiplicity of characters' developed through time and circumstances."
A multiangled exploration of the slippery notion of self-identity. Read full book review >
THE GEEK FEMINIST REVOLUTION by Kameron Hurley
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: May 31, 2016

"Passion and commitment permeate the writing as Hurley illuminates the online cultural vanguard from a feminist's perspective."
A feminist manifesto from the front lines of fantasy fiction, Internet flaming, and Gamergate battles. Read full book review >

HISTORY
Released: May 24, 2016

"A fresh, lively look at an obsessive desire to own a piece of the wild."
In her spirited debut book, a journalist recounts her quest for a coveted aquarium fish. Read full book review >
THE NEXT PANDEMIC by Ali S. Khan
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 24, 2016

"The details are sometimes disturbing, but Khan writes with verve, clarity, and a touch of humor."
Autobiography of a self-described disease detective whose adventures in public health dramatize the need to modify our approach to emerging infections and possible pandemics. Read full book review >
THE PHYSICS OF LIFE by Adrian Bejan
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: May 24, 2016

"Unique and entirely fascinating, this book will linger in your consciousness and prompt you to look at the world with fresh eyes."
Renowned energy scientist Bejan (Mechanical Engineering/Duke Univ.; co-author: Design in Nature, 2013, etc.) reorients the query "what is life" within the perspective of physics. Read full book review >

Marijuana by Jack Isler
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: May 23, 2016

"A comprehensive and chemistry-based argument for the medical application of pot."
A former ICU physician discusses the positive and negative aspects of marijuana in this work of nonfiction. Read full book review >
Puzzle of Fate by A. Reza Kamarei
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: May 21, 2016

"A thought-provoking rumination on fate."
Kamarei explores a scientific basis for fate in this debut work of nonfiction. Read full book review >
Forestry Flavours of the Month by Alastair Fraser
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 20, 2016

"An accessible combination of policy analysis and reminiscences from a half-century-long forestry career."
A retired forester recounts his experiences working with trees and the logging industry around the world. Read full book review >
THE GENE by Siddhartha Mukherjee
HISTORY
Released: May 17, 2016

"Sobering, humbling, and extraordinarily rich reading from a wise and gifted writer who sees how far we have come—but how much farther we have to go to understand our human nature and destiny."
A panoramic history of the gene and how genetics "resonate[s] far beyond the realms of science." Read full book review >
THE AGE OF GENOMES by Steven Monroe Lipkin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 17, 2016

"The author's caveats about present and future uses of gene sequencing reflect a physician keenly aware of the ethical and moral issues."
Vignettes from the front lines of genetics research and testing. Read full book review >
THE SEVENTH SENSE by Joshua Cooper Ramo
SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY
Released: May 17, 2016

"Plus ça change? No, the more it changes, the weirder the world gets. For policy wonks with an eye toward the middle term, Ramo provides a good effort to make sense of it all."
Salutary futuristic reading for those still inclined to "use a mechanical way of thinking in an age of complexity." Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: May 16, 2016

"A solid history of the Singer company from the invention of the sewing machine to the days of leveraged buyouts."
A corporate history of one of the world's leading sewing machine manufacturers. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jeff Chang
September 20, 2016

In the provocative essays in journalist Jeff Chang’s new book We Gon’ Be Alright, Chang takes an incisive and wide-ranging look at the recent tragedies and widespread protests that have shaken the country. Through deep reporting with key activists and thinkers, personal writing, and cultural criticism, We Gon’ Be Alright links #BlackLivesMatter to #OscarsSoWhite, Ferguson to Washington D.C., the Great Migration to resurgent nativism. Chang explores the rise and fall of the idea of “diversity,” the roots of student protest, changing ideas about Asian Americanness, and the impact of a century of racial separation in housing. “He implores readers to listen, act, and become involved with today’s activists, who offer ‘new ways to see our past and our present,’ ” our reviewer writes in a starred review. “A compelling and intellectually thought-provoking exploration of the quagmire of race relations.” View video >