Book List

The 10 Most Addictive Books of 2019 (So Far)

  • NONFICTION

    THE LIGHT YEARS

    APRIL 2, 2019

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE LIGHT YEARS

by Chris Rush

A captivating, psychedelically charged coming-of-age memoir. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    INTERNMENT

    MARCH 19, 2019

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

INTERNMENT

by Samira Ahmed

A reminder that even in a world filled with divisions and right-wing ideology, young people will rise up and demand equality... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    SAVE ME THE PLUMS

    APRIL 2, 2019

  • FICTION

    TRUST EXERCISE

    APRIL 2, 2019

  • NONFICTION

    FIGURING

    FEB. 5, 2019

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

FIGURING

by Maria Popova

A lyrical work of intellectual history, one that Popova’s many followers will await eagerly and that deserves to win her... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    ON THE COME UP

    FEB. 5, 2019

  • NONFICTION

    THE MASTERMIND

    MARCH 5, 2019

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE MASTERMIND

by Evan Ratliff

A wholly engrossing story that joins the worlds of El Chapo and Edward Snowden; both disturbing and memorable. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    QUEENIE

    MARCH 19, 2019

  • FICTION

    THE NIGHT TIGER

    FEB. 12, 2019

FICTION

THE NIGHT TIGER

by Yangsze Choo

Choo has written a sumptuous garden maze of a novel that immerses readers in a complex, vanished world. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!