Book List

10 New Books by Women That Everyone Should Read

  • NONFICTION

    BURN IT DOWN

    OCT. 8, 2019

CURRENT EVENTS & SOCIAL ISSUES

BURN IT DOWN

edited by Lilly Dancyger

An incisive collection of writing about how women’s anger “doesn’t have to be useful to deserve a voice.” Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    TRICK MIRROR

    AUG. 6, 2019

CURRENT EVENTS & SOCIAL ISSUES

TRICK MIRROR

by Jia Tolentino

Exhilarating, groundbreaking essays that should establish Tolentino as a key voice of her generation. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    SHE SAID

    SEPT. 10, 2019

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

SHE SAID

by Jodi Kantor & Megan Twohey

Keenly executed, exemplary spadework dedicated to justice for all women caught in the crosshairs of privileged power. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THINGS WE DIDN'T TALK ABOUT WHEN I WAS A GIRL

    OCT. 1, 2019

  • NONFICTION

    NO STOPPING US NOW

    OCT. 15, 2019

  • NONFICTION

    MAKE IT SCREAM, MAKE IT BURN

    SEPT. 24, 2019

NONFICTION

MAKE IT SCREAM, MAKE IT BURN

by Leslie Jamison

A commendable essay collection by one of the leading practitioners of the form. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THICK

    JAN. 8, 2019

  • NONFICTION

    ON FIRE

    SEPT. 17, 2019

CURRENT EVENTS & SOCIAL ISSUES

ON FIRE

by Naomi Klein

Another important addition to the literature on the most essential issue of our day. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    MY TIME AMONG THE WHITES

    SEPT. 3, 2019

  • NONFICTION

    FOR THE LOVE OF MEN

    SEPT. 10, 2019

NONFICTION

FOR THE LOVE OF MEN

by Liz Plank

A canny appeal to the self-interest of men in reforming gender roles. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We kick off the first of three issues of Kirkus Reviews that celebrate the best books of 2021 with the year's best fiction and nonfiction, selected from more than 3,300 books reviewed in both genres.

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!