• FICTION

    WOLF IN WHITE VAN

    SEPT. 16, 2014

FICTION

WOLF IN WHITE VAN

by John Darnielle

A pop culture–infused novel that thoughtfully and nonjudgmentally considers the dark side of nerddom. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    OTHERBOUND

    JUNE 17, 2014

  • FICTION

    LOVE ME BACK

    SEPT. 9, 2014

FICTION

LOVE ME BACK

by Merritt Tierce

The cold and honest confessions of a damaged young woman who lives to serve. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    GABI, A GIRL IN PIECES

    SEPT. 1, 2014

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

GABI, A GIRL IN PIECES

by Isabel Quintero

A fresh, authentic and honest exploration of contemporary Latina identity. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE INVENTION OF EXILE

    AUG. 18, 2014

FICTION

THE INVENTION OF EXILE

by Vanessa Manko

A top-notch debut, at once sober and lively and provocative. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    BIRD BOX

    MAY 13, 2014

THRILLER & SUSPENSE

BIRD BOX

by Josh Malerman

An unsettling thriller, this earns comparisons to Hitchcock's The Birds, as well as the finer efforts of Stephen King and... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    SWAY

    SEPT. 16, 2014

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

SWAY

by Kat Spears

A compelling debut told with swagger and real depth. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    A BRAVE MAN SEVEN STOREYS TALL

    JULY 8, 2014

FICTION

A BRAVE MAN SEVEN STOREYS TALL

by Will Chancellor

Some readers may stumble over the Latin, argot and allusions, but these are minor challenges in Chancellor’s polymorphous... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!