Book List

12 Early 2018 Books We Love

  • FICTION

    AN AMERICAN MARRIAGE

    FEB. 6, 2018

  • NONFICTION

    FEEL FREE

    FEB. 6, 2018

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

FEEL FREE

by Zadie Smith

Judiciously political, Smith wears her liberalism gracefully, though with qualifications. She is never less than a... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    PECULIAR GROUND

    JAN. 9, 2018

FICTION

PECULIAR GROUND

by Lucy Hughes-Hallett

A first novel stunning for both its historical sweep and its elegant prose. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    THE JOURNEY OF LITTLE CHARLIE

    JAN. 30, 2018

CHILDREN'S

THE JOURNEY OF LITTLE CHARLIE

by Christopher Paul Curtis

A characteristically lively and complex addition to the historical fiction of the era from Curtis. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    DIRECTORATE S

    FEB. 6, 2018

HISTORY

DIRECTORATE S

by Steve Coll

In this era of fake news, Coll remains above it all, this time delivering an impeccably researched history of “diplomacy at... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    HALSEY STREET

    JAN. 1, 2018

FICTION

HALSEY STREET

by Naima Coster

Absorbing and alive, the kind of novel that swallows you whole. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    THIS IS NOT A LOVE LETTER

    JAN. 30, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

THIS IS NOT A LOVE LETTER

by Kim Purcell

A poignant interracial love story that grapples with hate and violence. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE ROAD NOT TAKEN

    JAN. 9, 2018

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE ROAD NOT TAKEN

by Max Boot

Controversial in some of its conclusions, perhaps, as Lansdale’s arguments were in their day, and essential reading for... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE CHÂTEAU

    FEB. 13, 2018

FICTION

THE CHÂTEAU

by Paul Goldberg

Following up his acclaimed debut, The Yid (2016), Goldberg confirms his status as one of Jewish fiction's liveliest new... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    A LAND OF PERMANENT GOODBYES

    JAN. 23, 2018

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

A LAND OF PERMANENT GOODBYES

by Atia Abawi

A heartbreaking, haunting, and necessary story that offers hope while laying bare the bleakness of the world Tareq leaves... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE LINE BECOMES A RIVER

    FEB. 6, 2018

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE LINE BECOMES A RIVER

by Francisco Cantú

A devastating narrative of the very real human effects of depersonalized policy. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    GNOMON

    JAN. 11, 2018

SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY

GNOMON

by Nick Harkaway

Fans of Pynchon and William Gibson alike will devour this smart, expertly written bit of literary subversion. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!