Book List

15 Beach Reads You Should Buy Now

  • FICTION

    SUMMER OF '69

    JUNE 18, 2019

FICTION

SUMMER OF '69

by Elin Hilderbrand

To use the parlance of the period, a highly relevant retrospective. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    REBEL

    MAY 28, 2019

FICTION

REBEL

by Beverly Jenkins

A satisfying start to a new historical series from one of romance’s finest writers. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    DELAYED RAYS OF A STAR

    JULY 9, 2019

  • FICTION

    AYESHA AT LAST

    JUNE 4, 2019

ROMANCE

AYESHA AT LAST

by Uzma Jalaluddin

Scheming aunties, headstrong cousins, sweet grandparents, Pakistani-Canadian masala, and good old-fashioned romance are just... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    FLEISHMAN IS IN TROUBLE

    JUNE 18, 2019

FICTION

FLEISHMAN IS IN TROUBLE

by Taffy Brodesser-Akner

Firing on all circuits, from psychological insight to cultural acuity to narrative strategy to very smart humor. Quite a... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THIS STORM

    JUNE 4, 2019

MYSTERY & DETECTIVE

THIS STORM

by James Ellroy

A gritty, absorbing novel that proves once again that Ellroy is the rightful heir of Chandler, Cain, and Hammett. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    NEVER LOOK BACK

    JULY 2, 2019

MYSTERY & DETECTIVE

NEVER LOOK BACK

by Alison Gaylin

A mind-bending mystery, an insightful exploration of parent-child relationships, and a cautionary tale about bitterness and... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    EVVIE DRAKE STARTS OVER

    JUNE 25, 2019

FICTION

EVVIE DRAKE STARTS OVER

by Linda Holmes

A warm and lovely romance, perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell and Louise Miller. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE PLUS ONE

    JULY 2, 2019

ROMANCE

THE PLUS ONE

by Sarah Archer

A fun story that will appeal to geeks and beachgoers alike. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE GUEST BOOK

    MAY 7, 2019

FICTION

THE GUEST BOOK

by Sarah Blake

This novel sets out to be more than a juicy family saga—it aims to depict the moral evolution of a part of American society.... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    WILDER GIRLS

    JULY 9, 2019

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

WILDER GIRLS

by Rory Power

Part survival thriller, part post-apocalyptic romance, and part ecocritical feminist manifesto, a staggering gut punch of a... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    TEETH IN THE MIST

    JUNE 11, 2019

  • TEEN

    HEARTWOOD BOX

    JULY 1, 2019

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

HEARTWOOD BOX

by Ann Aguirre

Aguirre (The Shadow Warrior, 2019, etc.) writes compelling and accessible characters who fumble through complicated... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    THE BEST LIES

    JULY 2, 2019

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

THE BEST LIES

by Sarah Lyu

A gripping story of love, obsession, and the space in between. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • TEEN

    SYMPTOMS OF A HEARTBREAK

    JULY 2, 2019

TEENS & YOUNG ADULT

SYMPTOMS OF A HEARTBREAK

by Sona Charaipotra

A charming debut, part Doogie Howser, M.D. and part The Fault in Our Stars, offering rich, nuanced portrayals of Indian... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!