Book List

The 8 Most Buzzed-About Books Right Now

  • FICTION

    DARK CONSTELLATIONS

    APRIL 16, 2019

FICTION

DARK CONSTELLATIONS

by Pola Oloixarac ; translated by Roy Kesey

This genre-defying novel blends science fiction with cyberpunk with naturalism to end up with something utterly original. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE PARISIAN

    APRIL 9, 2019

FICTION

THE PARISIAN

by Isabella Hammad

Closely observed and elegantly written: an overstuffed story that embraces decades and a large cast of characters without... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    HORIZON

    MARCH 20, 2019

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

HORIZON

by Barry Lopez

Exemplary writing about the world and a welcome gift to readers. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    MIRACLE CREEK

    APRIL 16, 2019

THRILLER & SUSPENSE

MIRACLE CREEK

by Angie Kim

Intricate plotting and courtroom theatrics, combined with moving insight into parenting special needs children and the... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    SAVE ME THE PLUMS

    APRIL 2, 2019

  • NONFICTION

    MIDNIGHT IN CHERNOBYL

    FEB. 5, 2019

HISTORY

MIDNIGHT IN CHERNOBYL

by Adam Higginbotham

Written with authority, this superb book reads like a classic disaster story and reveals a Soviet empire on the brink. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    NORMAL PEOPLE

    APRIL 16, 2019

  • FICTION

    THE OTHER AMERICANS

    MARCH 26, 2019

THRILLER & SUSPENSE

THE OTHER AMERICANS

by Laila Lalami

A crime slowly unmasks a small town’s worth of resentment and yearning. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!