• FICTION

    IF I FALL, IF I DIE

    JAN. 20, 2015

FICTION

IF I FALL, IF I DIE

by Michael Christie

Dark, threatening, dislocating and altogether brilliant. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE MAN WHO COULDN'T STOP

    JAN. 20, 2015

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE MAN WHO COULDN'T STOP

by David Adam

Well-researched, witty, honest and irreverent, Adam’s account proves as irresistible as his subject. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE NUNS OF SANT'AMBROGIO

    JAN. 13, 2015

  • FICTION

    HER

    JAN. 6, 2015

  • NONFICTION

    A MAN OF GOOD HOPE

    JAN. 6, 2015

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

A MAN OF GOOD HOPE

by Jonny Steinberg

For truly capturing the power of dreams and the resilience of human nature, this book deserves a wide audience. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    LEAVING BEFORE THE RAINS COME

    JAN. 22, 2015

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

LEAVING BEFORE THE RAINS COME

by Alexandra Fuller

Although her batty and unhinged relatives emerge more vividly than her taciturn husband, Fuller’s talent as a storyteller... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    CHASING THE SCREAM

    JAN. 20, 2015

CURRENT EVENTS & SOCIAL ISSUES

CHASING THE SCREAM

by Johann Hari

A compassionate and humane argument to overturn draconian drug policies. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    GATEWAY TO FREEDOM

    JAN. 19, 2015

HISTORY

GATEWAY TO FREEDOM

by Eric Foner

Foner brings to life fraught decades of contention, brutality and amazing acts of moral courage. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN

    JAN. 13, 2015

THRILLER & SUSPENSE

THE GIRL ON THE TRAIN

by Paula Hawkins

Even the most astute readers will be in for a shock as Hawkins slowly unspools the facts, exposing the harsh realities of... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!