• FICTION

    TODAY WILL BE DIFFERENT

    OCT. 4, 2016

FICTION

TODAY WILL BE DIFFERENT

by Maria Semple

This author is on her way to becoming a national treasure. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    THE BOAT ROCKER

    OCT. 25, 2016

FICTION

THE BOAT ROCKER

by Ha Jin

The narrator ultimately realizes what an innocent he's been, and the reader shares the epiphanies of this pilgrim’s progress. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    SWING TIME

    NOV. 15, 2016

FICTION

SWING TIME

by Zadie Smith

Moving, funny, and grave, this novel parses race and global politics with Fred Astaire’s or Michael Jackson's grace. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    MOONGLOW

    NOV. 22, 2016

  • FICTION

    JERUSALEM

    SEPT. 3, 2016

FICTION

JERUSALEM

by Alan Moore

Magisterial: an epic that outdoes Danielewski, Vollmann, Stephenson, and other worldbuilders in vision and depth. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    HERE I AM

    SEPT. 6, 2016

FICTION

HERE I AM

by Jonathan Safran Foer

Sharply observed but perhaps a bit too sprawling, Foer's novel bites off more than it can chew. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    HAG-SEED

    OCT. 11, 2016

FICTION

HAG-SEED

by Margaret Atwood

Deliberate and carefully built, this novel rarely pulls off true theater’s magic of transforming glitter confetti into fairy... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    COMMONWEALTH

    SEPT. 13, 2016

FICTION

COMMONWEALTH

by Ann Patchett

A satisfying meat-and-potatoes domestic novel from one of our finest writers. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    A GAMBLER'S ANATOMY

    OCT. 18, 2016

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!