Book List

Best History Books of 2014

  • NONFICTION

    ENCOUNTERS AT THE HEART OF THE WORLD

    MARCH 11, 2014

HISTORY

ENCOUNTERS AT THE HEART OF THE WORLD

by Elizabeth A. Fenn

An excellent contribution to the truth telling of the American Indian story. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    ASTORIA

    MARCH 4, 2014

HISTORY

ASTORIA

by Peter Stark

A fast-paced, riveting account of exploration and settlement, suffering and survival, treachery and death. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    WAR! WHAT IS IT GOOD FOR?

    APRIL 15, 2014

HISTORY

WAR! WHAT IS IT GOOD FOR?

by Ian Morris

A disturbing, transformative text that veers toward essential reading. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    DARK INVASION

    FEB. 11, 2014

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

DARK INVASION

by Howard Blum

Instructive, yes, but also as engrossing as good detective fiction. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    SUPREME CITY

    MAY 6, 2014

HISTORY

SUPREME CITY

by Donald L. Miller

A scholarly enough social history but one with plenty of sex appeal. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE AGE OF RADIANCE

    MARCH 25, 2014

HISTORY

THE AGE OF RADIANCE

by Craig Nelson

An engaging history that raises provocative questions about the future of nuclear science. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE STORY OF THE JEWS

    MARCH 18, 2014

HISTORY

THE STORY OF THE JEWS

by Simon Schama

A multifaceted story artfully woven by an expert historian. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE TRIGGER

    JUNE 3, 2014

HISTORY

THE TRIGGER

by Tim Butcher

A haunting and illuminating book marking the centennial of the assassination. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    IN THE KINGDOM OF ICE

    AUG. 5, 2014

HISTORY

IN THE KINGDOM OF ICE

by Hampton Sides

A grand and grim narrative of thrilling exploration for fans of Into Thin Air, Mountains of the Moon and the like. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    A SPY AMONG FRIENDS

    JULY 29, 2014

HISTORY

A SPY AMONG FRIENDS

by Ben Macintyre

Gripping and as well-crafted as an episode of Smiley’s People, full of cynical inevitability, secrets, lashings of whiskey... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE INVISIBLE BRIDGE

    AUG. 5, 2014

HISTORY

THE INVISIBLE BRIDGE

by Rick Perlstein

A compelling, astute chronicle of the politics and culture of late-20th-century America. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE HALF HAS NEVER BEEN TOLD

    SEPT. 9, 2014

HISTORY

THE HALF HAS NEVER BEEN TOLD

by Edward E. Baptist

Though some readers may find the narrative occasionally tedious, this is a complicated story involving staggering... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    WHEN PARIS WENT DARK

    AUG. 5, 2014

HISTORY

WHEN PARIS WENT DARK

by Ronald C. Rosbottom

A profound historical portrait of Paris for anyone who loves the city. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    LINCOLN AND THE POWER OF THE PRESS

    OCT. 14, 2014

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

LINCOLN AND THE POWER OF THE PRESS

by Harold Holzer

An exhaustive feat of research with a focused structure and robust prose. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THIRTEEN DAYS IN SEPTEMBER

    SEPT. 16, 2014

HISTORY

THIRTEEN DAYS IN SEPTEMBER

by Lawrence Wright

A unique moment in history superbly captured. Yet another triumph for Wright. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE EMPIRE OF NECESSITY

    JAN. 14, 2014

HISTORY

THE EMPIRE OF NECESSITY

by Greg Grandin

Deeply researched and well-written, this book will appeal to general readers and specialists alike. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE DELUGE

    NOV. 13, 2014

HISTORY

THE DELUGE

by Adam Tooze

A lucid, first-rate history of the results of a war whose beginning a century ago we are busily commemorating. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    CITIES OF EMPIRE

    NOV. 25, 2014

HISTORY

CITIES OF EMPIRE

by Tristram Hunt

A well-documented, evenhanded work that will delight urban scholars and lay travelers. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE CAUSE OF ALL NATIONS

    DEC. 30, 2014

HISTORY

THE CAUSE OF ALL NATIONS

by Don H. Doyle

An important—even necessary—addition to the groaning shelves of Civil War volumes. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

Laila Lalami confronts American inequities in 'Conditional Citizens.'

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2019 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!