Book List

Best Indie Biographies & Memoirs of 2019

  • NONFICTION

    THE RED RIBBON

    MAY 28, 2019

  • NONFICTION

    BOWING TO ELEPHANTS

    SEPT. 17, 2019

  • NONFICTION

    FROM CINDERS TO BUTTERFLIES

    JUNE 3, 2003

NONFICTION

FROM CINDERS TO BUTTERFLIES

by Richard B. Fratianne

A straightforward and uplifting story of helping others through earnest Christian faith. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    MY SISTER'S MOTHER

    APRIL 27, 2016

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

MY SISTER'S MOTHER

by Donna Solecka Urbikas

A painfully beautiful portrayal of an indomitable, loving mother’s survival. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THIS ALL-AT-ONCENESS

    MAY 31, 2019

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THIS ALL-AT-ONCENESS

by Julie Wittes Schlack

A thoughtful, witty, and evocative recollection of a life and the convictions that energized it. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    FRONTAL MATTER

    OCT. 15, 2018

NONFICTION

FRONTAL MATTER

by Suzanne Samples

A uniquely poetic memoir with dark humor and profound insights. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    TRIPS

    NOV. 23, 2018

NONFICTION

TRIPS

by Arthur W. Goodhart

An engaging picaresque that explores the role of chance and fate inside the casino and out. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    LIFE AS TRAUMA

    SEPT. 3, 2019

NONFICTION

LIFE AS TRAUMA

by Sarah Z. Mitić

A commanding chronicle of focused leadership and admirable humanity. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!