• CHILDREN'S

    HUNDRED PERCENT

    AUG. 2, 2016

CHILDREN'S

HUNDRED PERCENT

by Karen Romano Young

A lovely, lovely tale full of warmth, humor, and intelligence that validates its readership. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    SAVE ME A SEAT

    MAY 10, 2016

CHILDREN'S

SAVE ME A SEAT

by Sarah Weeks & Gita Varadarajan

A novel treatment of a familiar situation delivered with fizz and aplomb. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    JOSH BAXTER LEVELS UP

    FEB. 23, 2016

CHILDREN'S

JOSH BAXTER LEVELS UP

by Gavin Brown

Smartly paced and emotionally engaging, a book even those who have never held a controller will enjoy. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    A BOY NAMED QUEEN

    AUG. 1, 2016

  • CHILDREN'S

    CATCHING A STORYFISH

    SEPT. 13, 2016

CHILDREN'S

CATCHING A STORYFISH

by Janice N. Harrington

A gentle-spirited book about a black girl who almost gives up her gift but for love and friendship. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    BOOK UNCLE AND ME

    SEPT. 13, 2016

CHILDREN'S

BOOK UNCLE AND ME

by Uma Krishnaswami ; illustrated by Julianna Swaney

Yasmin’s campaign should help inspire young readers to believe in their own potential to make a difference and teach the... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    GHOST

    AUG. 30, 2016

CHILDREN'S

GHOST

by Jason Reynolds

An endearing protagonist runs the first, fast leg of Reynolds' promising relay. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    FRAZZLED

    SEPT. 27, 2016

CHILDREN'S

FRAZZLED

by Booki Vivat ; illustrated by Booki Vivat

A hilarious Asian-American heroine guaranteed to provoke laughs—not anxiety. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    SPIRIT WEEK SHOWDOWN

    JAN. 26, 2016

CHILDREN'S

SPIRIT WEEK SHOWDOWN

by Crystal Allen ; illustrated by Eda Kaban

Nuanced depictions of friendship coupled with larger-than-life and fully three-dimensional characters make this delightful... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    BOOKED

    APRIL 5, 2016

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!