Book List

Best Page-Turning Nonfiction Books of 2014

  • NONFICTION

    THIRTEEN DAYS IN SEPTEMBER

    SEPT. 16, 2014

HISTORY

THIRTEEN DAYS IN SEPTEMBER

by Lawrence Wright

A unique moment in history superbly captured. Yet another triumph for Wright. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    HACK ATTACK

    AUG. 12, 2014

NONFICTION

HACK ATTACK

by Nick Davies

No one does scandal quite like the British; this one is a real doozy that deserves Davies’ entertaining, no-stone-unturned... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE EMPIRE OF NECESSITY

    JAN. 14, 2014

HISTORY

THE EMPIRE OF NECESSITY

by Greg Grandin

Deeply researched and well-written, this book will appeal to general readers and specialists alike. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    SAVAGE HARVEST

    MARCH 18, 2014

HISTORY

SAVAGE HARVEST

by Carl Hoffman

A searching, discomfiting journey yields an elegant, memorable report. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE INNOVATORS

    OCT. 7, 2014

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE INNOVATORS

by Walter Isaacson

Isaacson weaves prodigious research and deftly crafted anecdotes into a vigorous, gripping narrative about the visionaries... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    DEAR LEADER

    MAY 13, 2014

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

DEAR LEADER

by Jang Jin-sung translated by Shirley Lee

An exciting escape closes this urgent, well-rendered attempt to penetrate North Korea’s cynical, criminal power strategy. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    A SPY AMONG FRIENDS

    JULY 29, 2014

HISTORY

A SPY AMONG FRIENDS

by Ben Macintyre

Gripping and as well-crafted as an episode of Smiley’s People, full of cynical inevitability, secrets, lashings of whiskey... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE RACE UNDERGROUND

    FEB. 18, 2014

HISTORY

THE RACE UNDERGROUND

by Doug Most

An almost flawlessly conducted tour back to a time when major American cities dreamed big. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    BUSTED

    MARCH 11, 2014

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

BUSTED

by Wendy Ruderman ; Barbara Laker

All the President’s Men it’s not, but Ruderman and Laker provide a welcome addition to the shelves of books about the... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    IN THE KINGDOM OF ICE

    AUG. 5, 2014

HISTORY

IN THE KINGDOM OF ICE

by Hampton Sides

A grand and grim narrative of thrilling exploration for fans of Into Thin Air, Mountains of the Moon and the like. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    DEEP DOWN DARK

    OCT. 7, 2014

HISTORY

DEEP DOWN DARK

by Héctor Tobar

An electrifying, empathetic work of journalism that makes a four-year-old story feel fresh. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    LAW OF THE JUNGLE

    SEPT. 23, 2014

NONFICTION

LAW OF THE JUNGLE

by Paul M. Barrett

Imagine a true-life, courtroom version of Heart of Darkness. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

Laila Lalami confronts American inequities in 'Conditional Citizens.'

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2019 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!