Book List

Best Picture Books of 2019 About Small People in a Big World

  • CHILDREN'S

    MY SHOES AND I / MIS ZAPATOS Y YO

    MAY 31, 2019

CHILDREN'S

MY SHOES AND I / MIS ZAPATOS Y YO

by René Colato Laínez ; illustrated by Fabricio Vanden Broeck

Inspired by the author’s own story, this tale of a young boy’s arduous escape serves as a crucial, insightful, and timely... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    HELLO

    OCT. 1, 2019

CHILDREN'S

HELLO

by Aiko Ikegami ; illustrated by Aiko Ikegami

Although wordless, this deftly expresses our simple need to build connections that can endure across a galaxy. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    RIVER

    OCT. 1, 2019

CHILDREN'S

RIVER

by Elisha Cooper ; illustrated by Elisha Cooper

Expansive content impressively and beautifully presented. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    TREASURE

    SEPT. 10, 2019

CHILDREN'S

TREASURE

by Mireille Messier ; illustrated by Irene Luxbacher

A gentle exploration, using a child’s words and told at a child’s pace, of a marvelous world Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    SMALL IN THE CITY

    SEPT. 3, 2019

  • CHILDREN'S

    THE GIRL AND THE WOLF

    FEB. 5, 2019

CHILDREN'S

THE GIRL AND THE WOLF

by Katherena Vermette ; illustrated by Julie Flett

A tale about knowledge, power, and trust that reminds readers we used to speak with animals and still do—it already feels... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    A MAP INTO THE WORLD

    OCT. 1, 2019

  • CHILDREN'S

    SO BIG!

    JULY 2, 2019

CHILDREN'S

SO BIG!

by Mike Wohnoutka ; illustrated by Mike Wohnoutka

Even the most school-ready kid can have doubts, but with a friend, nothing will seem too big to handle. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

The Philip Roth Redux: how biographer Blake Bailey captured the life and times of America's most provocative literary legend.

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!