Book List

Best Picture Books of 2019 With Themes of Resilience

  • CHILDREN'S

    THE UNDEFEATED

    APRIL 2, 2019

CHILDREN'S

THE UNDEFEATED

by Kwame Alexander ; illustrated by Kadir Nelson

An incredible connector text for young readers eager to graduate to weighty conversations about our yesterday, our now, and... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    FIX THAT CLOCK

    NOV. 26, 2019

CHILDREN'S

FIX THAT CLOCK

by Kurt Cyrus ; illustrated by Kurt Cyrus

With lots to look at and a pleasing rhythm, this energetic repair project ticks along very nicely indeed. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    SURVIVAL

    SEPT. 17, 2019

  • CHILDREN'S

    WHEN SPRING COMES TO THE DMZ

    MARCH 1, 2019

CHILDREN'S

WHEN SPRING COMES TO THE DMZ

by Uk-Bae Lee ; illustrated by Uk-Bae Lee ; translated by Chungyon Won & Aileen Won

The cupboard is nearly bare of children’s books about the DMZ, making this an excellent introduction to the crises on the... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    FRY BREAD

    OCT. 22, 2019

CHILDREN'S

FRY BREAD

by Kevin Noble Maillard ; illustrated by Juana Martinez-Neal

Fry bread is much more than food, as this book amply demonstrates. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    LUBNA AND PEBBLE

    MARCH 5, 2019

CHILDREN'S

LUBNA AND PEBBLE

by Wendy Meddour ; illustrated by Daniel Egnéus

A true celebration of the endless creativity and resilience of children. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    SATURDAY

    OCT. 22, 2019

  • CHILDREN'S

    THE BELL RANG

    JAN. 15, 2019

CHILDREN'S

THE BELL RANG

by James E. Ransome ; illustrated by James E. Ransome

With spare text and gorgeous illustrations, this work represents a unique and engaging perspective on enslaved families. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • CHILDREN'S

    THE PHONE BOOTH IN MR. HIROTA'S GARDEN

    SEPT. 17, 2019

CHILDREN'S

THE PHONE BOOTH IN MR. HIROTA'S GARDEN

by Heather Smith ; illustrated by Rachel Wada

A beautifully rendered tale of loss, love, grief, and gentle healing. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!