• NONFICTION

    A DISAPPEARANCE IN DAMASCUS

    SEPT. 5, 2017

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

A DISAPPEARANCE IN DAMASCUS

by Deborah Campbell

In the stormwater’s swirl, Campbell has found a bright and tender leaf to follow, and the effect on readers will be... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    MAYHEM

    SEPT. 5, 2017

  • NONFICTION

    COMING TO MY SENSES

    SEPT. 5, 2017

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

COMING TO MY SENSES

by Alice Waters

An almost charmed restaurant life that exhales the sweet aromas of honesty and self-awareness. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    AN ODYSSEY

    SEPT. 12, 2017

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

AN ODYSSEY

by Daniel Mendelsohn

A well-told story that underscores the power of storytelling. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    RIOT DAYS

    SEPT. 26, 2017

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

RIOT DAYS

written and illustrated by Maria Alyokhina

An inspirational memoir about youthful idealism and the power of popular culture to challenge the status quo. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    SPOILER ALERT

    SEPT. 12, 2017

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

SPOILER ALERT

by Michael Ausiello

A heartbreaking memoir infused with dark humor and composed with true love. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    WAITING FOR THE PUNCH

    OCT. 10, 2017

NONFICTION

WAITING FOR THE PUNCH

by Marc Maron & Brendan McDonald

An insightful collection of interviews about what it means to be human. This book, it turns out, helps explain W is TF. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    UNSTOPPABLE

    SEPT. 12, 2017

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

UNSTOPPABLE

by Maria Sharapova

Sharapova demonstrates consistent dedication and impressive wisdom for her age. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    ADMISSIONS

    OCT. 3, 2017

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

ADMISSIONS

by Henry Marsh

Another thoughtful, painful, utterly fascinating mixture of nut-and-bolts brain surgery with a compassionate, workaholic... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!