• FICTION

    LILY AND THE OCTOPUS

    JUNE 7, 2016

ROMANCE

LILY AND THE OCTOPUS

by Steven Rowley

In his funny, ardent, and staunchly kooky way, Rowley expresses exactly what it’s like to love a dog. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    I'M JUST A PERSON

    JUNE 14, 2016

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

I'M JUST A PERSON

by Tig Notaro

Forthright and private moments are revealed as a stand-up comedian uses her gift of creating laughter to overcome personal... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    MAGIC AND LOSS

    JUNE 7, 2016

NONFICTION

MAGIC AND LOSS

by Virginia Heffernan

A thoroughly engrossing examination of the Internet’s past, present, and future. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    LOVE WINS

    JUNE 14, 2016

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

LOVE WINS

by Debbie Cenziper & Jim Obergefell

Uplifting, well-written story of personal courage and political empowerment. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    UNDER THE HARROW

    JUNE 14, 2016

THRILLER & SUSPENSE

UNDER THE HARROW

by Flynn Berry

Berry accomplishes the rare feat of making the victim come alive on the page without ever sacrificing the deep,... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    I ALMOST FORGOT ABOUT YOU

    JUNE 7, 2016

FICTION

I ALMOST FORGOT ABOUT YOU

by Terry McMillan

A heartwarming story that reminds us of the pure joy of believing in love. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • FICTION

    A CERTAIN AGE

    JUNE 28, 2016

  • FICTION

    WE COULD BE BEAUTIFUL

    JUNE 28, 2016

  • FICTION

    THE SECOND GIRL

    JUNE 7, 2016

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!