Book List

New Books by All-Star Authors

  • NONFICTION

    THE SPLENDID AND THE VILE

    FEB. 25, 2020

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE SPLENDID AND THE VILE

by Erik Larson

A captivating history of Churchill’s heroic year, with more than the usual emphasis on his intimates. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    UNTAMED

    MARCH 10, 2020

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

UNTAMED

by Glennon Doyle

Doyle offers another lucid, inspiring chronicle of female empowerment and the rewards of self-awareness and renewal. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE POWER NOTEBOOKS

    MARCH 3, 2020

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE POWER NOTEBOOKS

by Katie Roiphe

An intriguing examination of the complexity of female power in a variety of relationships. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THE MAN IN THE RED COAT

    FEB. 18, 2020

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

THE MAN IN THE RED COAT

by Julian Barnes

Finely honed biographical intuition and a novelist’s sensibility make for a stylish, engrossing narrative. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    THIS BRILLIANT DARKNESS

    FEB. 11, 2020

  • NONFICTION

    RECOLLECTIONS OF MY NONEXISTENCE

    MARCH 10, 2020

  • NONFICTION

    UNFINISHED BUSINESS

    FEB. 4, 2020

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

by Vivian Gornick

Literature knows few champions as ardent and insightful—or as uncompromising—as Gornick, which is to readers’ good fortune. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    SALMON

    MARCH 3, 2020

NONFICTION

SALMON

by Mark Kurlansky

In championing a critically important part of the natural world, Kurlansky sounds an urgent alarm that commands our... Full review >

FULL REVIEW >
  • NONFICTION

    CAPITAL AND IDEOLOGY

    MARCH 10, 2020

BUSINESS

CAPITAL AND IDEOLOGY

by Thomas Piketty translated by Arthur Goldhammer

A deftly argued case for a new kind of socialism that, while sure to inspire controversy, bears widespread discussion. Full review >

FULL REVIEW >

More Book Lists

The Magazine: Kirkus Reviews

We continue our coverage of 2021's best books with our favorite children's and YA titles of the year plus our regular Dec. 1 issue. 

subscribe
  • The Kirkus Star

    One of the most coveted designations in the book industry, the Kirkus Star marks books of exceptional merit.

  • The Kirkus Prize

    The Kirkus Prize is among the richest literary awards in America, awarding $50,000 in three categories annually.

    See the 2020 winners.

Great Books & News Curated For You

Be the first to read books news and see reviews, news and features in Kirkus Reviews. Get awesome content delivered to your inbox every week.

Thank you!