This is not one of the long-lived books from the pens of the famous Bounty chroniclers, but it is excellent entertainment,...

READ REVIEW

NO MORE GAS

This is not one of the long-lived books from the pens of the famous Bounty chroniclers, but it is excellent entertainment, in the vein of The Hurricane and The Dark River, The setting is that of The Dark River, and there is an immaterial overlapping of characters -- but a much more lively story. Call it a Tahitian Wickford Point or Sanger's Circus -- and you have it in a nutshell. It is the story of a huge, improvident, annoying and delightful family, in whose blood there flows that of a Yankee forebear, but in whose traits there is less than scant resemblance. Fortune is good to them, again and again, but always -- through their heedlessness or their generosity or their cult of hospitality, the gifts of fortune are scattered to the winds. They make the biggest catch in history -- and the net breaks. They load their boat down with tuna -- and run out of gas so far from shore that the fish must be thrown away. They bet everything they have on a cock brought back from the mainland -- and ----Read the story for yourself. It is a good one. And at the very last you'll find them just the same.

Pub Date: Feb. 1, 1939

ISBN: N/A

Page Count: -

Publisher: Little, Brown

Review Posted Online: N/A

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Feb. 1, 1939