Kirkus Reviews QR Code
ALL JUST GLASS by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes


From the Den of Shadows series, volume 7

by Amelia Atwater-Rhodes

Age Range: 12 & up

Pub Date: Jan. 11th, 2011
ISBN: 978-0-385-73752-4
Publisher: Delacorte

This sequel to Shattered Mirror (2001) in the Den of Shadows series continues the story of the Vida witch clan and their mortal enemies: vampires. Fans of vampire fiction will find what they crave here, although those who have not read the earlier book also may find abundant confusion, as the author assumes knowledge of the previous book and its complicated structure of relationships and loyalties. This story’s heroine, Adianna (Adia) Vida, has taken a solemn oath—at their mother’s behest—to kill her younger sister, Sarah, who has become an apparently unrepentant vampire, and now she must rally the clan to pursue Sarah. The posse of witches that agrees to join the hunt turns out to be far from the dedicated and disciplined crowd that the text describes. It falls apart at nearly every point. Sarah, the story’s alternate heroine, may not be quite as dead or as evil as her family supposes. Characters from the earlier book also may not be as they seem. What is certain is that devotees of the series will find plenty of vampiric lore and gore. Goth entertainment. (Paranormal romance. 12 & up)