A thorough guide best suited for people working in or responsible for safety and health aspects of these industries, or as a...

READ REVIEW

ARTS, CRAFTS AND TRADITIONAL INDUSTRIES

BOOK 1

In the first of five books in a planned series, a trained occupational physician and retired consultant with the U.K.’s National Health Service uses firsthand accounts to provide an overview of traditional craft industries.

  Using an encyclopedia format, Dasgupta (Disasters, 2011) describes typical crafts, such as sewing and basket weaving, but also stretches the definition of “craft” with entries such as lavender harvesting. The entries, which are randomly presented, fall into three general areas: decorative jewelry, clothing and housewares (embroidery, bangle-making and glass-making); harvesting of crops (sugar cane, coffee, tea); and industrial goods (plastics, rope-making and brick-making). Each chapter follows a similar structure and format, starting with historic origins of the craft, followed by a list of products and chemicals used, the cultural and social impact of each industry and a list of health and safety hazards. Large color photos also depict activities involved in the practice of the craft. The descriptions of the cultural aspects are a strength of the book, as Dasgupta emphasizes how developing countries still depend heavily on handmade goods, providing the reader with an understanding of the important role carried out by people who continue to work in handmade and traditional craft industries at a time when other industries are dominating the marketplace. However, each two-page entry is too brief to be instructional for those interested in taking up the craft as a hobby or as a profession, and there isn’t a clear grouping of the entries to provide organization and needed context for the collection as a whole. The health issues listed are too general in some chapters—such as injuries due to slips and falls—and could apply to any profession.  

A thorough guide best suited for people working in or responsible for safety and health aspects of these industries, or as a starting point for those wanting to learn more.

Pub Date: Nov. 29, 2011

ISBN: 978-1456792336

Page Count: 54

Publisher: AuthorHouse

Review Posted Online: Feb. 16, 2012

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that’s perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

GHOSTED

In Walsh’s American debut, a woman desperately tries to find out why the man she spent a whirlwind week with never called.

Sarah has just separated from her American husband and is visiting her hometown in England when she meets Eddie. He’s kind and charming, and although they only spend one week together, she falls in love. When he has to leave for a trip, she knows they’ll keep in touch—they’re already making plans for the rest of their lives. But then Eddie never calls, and Sarah’s increasingly frantic efforts to contact him are fruitless. Is he hurt? Is he dead? As her friends tell her, there’s a far greater likelihood that he’s just blowing her off—she’s been ghosted. After trying to track Eddie down at a football game, Sarah starts to become ashamed of herself—after all, she’s almost 40 years old and she’s essentially stalking a man who never called her. But as Sarah slowly learns, she and Eddie didn’t actually meet randomly—they both have a connection to an accident that happened years ago, and it may have something to do with why he disappeared. The tension quickly amps up as the secrets of Eddie’s and Sarah’s pasts are revealed, and the truth behind their connection is genuinely surprising and heartbreaking. The barriers between Sarah and Eddie seem insurmountable at times, and although their issues are resolved in a tidy manner, the emotions behind their actions are always believable. Walsh has created a deeply moving romance with an intriguing mystery and a touching portrait of grief at its heart.

A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that’s perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes.

Pub Date: July 24, 2018

ISBN: 978-0-525-52277-5

Page Count: 352

Publisher: Pamela Dorman/Viking

Review Posted Online: May 1, 2018

Kirkus Reviews Issue: May 15, 2018

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Our Verdict

  • Our Verdict
  • GET IT

  • New York Times Bestseller

  • IndieBound Bestseller

THE STARLESS SEA

A withdrawn graduate student embarks on an epic quest to restore balance to the world in this long-anticipated follow-up to The Night Circus (2011).

Zachary Ezra Rawlins is a typical millennial introvert; he likes video games, escapist reading, and drinking sidecars. But when he recognizes himself in the pages of a mysterious book from the university library, he's unnerved—and determined to uncover the truth. What begins as a journey for answers turns into something much bigger, and Zachary must decide whether to trust the handsome stranger he meets at a highflying literary fundraiser in New York or to retreat back to his thesis and forget the whole affair. In a high-wire feat of metatextual derring-do, Morgenstern weaves Zachary's adventure into a stunning array of linked fables, myths, and origin stories. There are pirates and weary travelers, painters who can see the future, lovers torn asunder, a menacing Owl King, and safe harbors for all the stories of the world, far below the Earth on the golden shores of a Starless Sea. Clocking in at more than 500 pages, the novel requires patience as Morgenstern puts all the pieces in place, but it is exquisitely pleasurable to watch the gears of this epic fantasy turn once they're set in motion. As in The Night Circus, Morgenstern is at her best when she imagines worlds and rooms and parties in vivid detail, right down to the ballroom stairs "festooned with lanterns and garlands of paper dipped in gold" or a cloak carved from ice with "ships and sailors and sea monsters...lost in the drifting snow." This novel is a love letter to readers as much as an invitation: Come and see how much magic is left in the world. Fans of Neil Gaiman and V.E. Schwab, Kelly Link and Susanna Clarke will want to heed the call.

An ambitious and bewitching gem of a book with mystery and passion inscribed on every page.

Pub Date: Nov. 5, 2019

ISBN: 978-0-385-54121-3

Page Count: 512

Publisher: Doubleday

Review Posted Online: Aug. 4, 2019

Kirkus Reviews Issue: Aug. 15, 2019

Did you like this book?

No Comments Yet
more