BESTSELLERS

TOM CLANCY POWER AND EMPIRE  by Marc Cameron
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 28, 2017
Another turbocharged, take-no-prisoners Ryan yarn. Read full book review >
DREAM BIG DREAMS by Pete Souza
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 21, 2017
Souza has given a hopeful gift for the generations: a keeper. (Nonfiction. 5-12)Read full book review >

THE MAGIC MISFITS by Neil Patrick Harris
CHILDREN'S
Released: Sept. 19, 2017
An earnest message about discovering the magic in the world and finding the family that suits you. (Fiction. 8-12)Read full book review >
GOLD DUST WOMAN by Stephen Davis
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 21, 2017
An entertaining rock biography, even if you're a take-it-or-leave-it fan of the singer. Read full book review >
THE WHISPERING ROOM by Dean Koontz

VERDICT: SKIP IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 21, 2017
While Koontz's second effort featuring Jane Hawk may satisfy his longtime fans, his new heroine too often seems stuck on autopilot—a major disappointment considering how lively she was in her debut. Read full book review >

SNOW & ROSE by Emily Winfield Martin

VERDICT: BORROW IT
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 10, 2017
For lovers of fairy tales, this story of sisterhood, taking risks, and being kind is a physically beautiful book with an appealing cover and captivating full-color illustrations. (Fantasy. 8-12)Read full book review >
HERE WE ARE by Oliver Jeffers
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 14, 2017
Big ideas ably packed into little, bright packages. (Picture book. 3-7)Read full book review >
PROMISE ME, DAD by Joe Biden
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 14, 2017
Could this signal an opening salvo in the 2020 presidential campaign? Many readers will hope so. Read full book review >
FUTURE HOME OF THE LIVING GOD by Louise Erdrich
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 14, 2017
There is much to rue in this novel about our world but also hope for salvation: "I think we have survived because we love beauty and because we find each other beautiful," as the novel's protagonist puts it. "I think it may be our strongest quality." Read full book review >
ARTEMIS by Andy Weir

VERDICT: SKIP IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 14, 2017
One small step, no giant leaps. Read full book review >
OATHBRINGER by Brandon Sanderson

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 14, 2017
Fans of the Stormlight Archive series will enjoy this book, which brings back favorite characters and deepens a well-drawn fantasy world. Read full book review >
OTHERWORLD by Jason Segel

VERDICT: BORROW IT
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 31, 2017
An exciting start to a mostly well-conceived sci-fi series that has room for improvement. (Science fiction. 12-17)Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >