BESTSELLERS

SNOW & ROSE by Emily Winfield Martin

VERDICT: BORROW IT
CHILDREN'S
Released: Oct. 10, 2017
For lovers of fairy tales, this story of sisterhood, taking risks, and being kind is a physically beautiful book with an appealing cover and captivating full-color illustrations. (Fantasy. 8-12)Read full book review >
HERE WE ARE by Oliver Jeffers
CHILDREN'S
Released: Nov. 14, 2017
Big ideas ably packed into little, bright packages. (Picture book. 3-7)Read full book review >

PROMISE ME, DAD by Joe Biden
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 14, 2017
Could this signal an opening salvo in the 2020 presidential campaign? Many readers will hope so. Read full book review >
FUTURE HOME OF THE LIVING GOD by Louise Erdrich
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 14, 2017
There is much to rue in this novel about our world but also hope for salvation: "I think we have survived because we love beauty and because we find each other beautiful," as the novel's protagonist puts it. "I think it may be our strongest quality." Read full book review >
ARTEMIS by Andy Weir

VERDICT: SKIP IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 14, 2017
One small step, no giant leaps. Read full book review >

OATHBRINGER by Brandon Sanderson

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 14, 2017
Fans of the Stormlight Archive series will enjoy this book, which brings back favorite characters and deepens a well-drawn fantasy world. Read full book review >
OTHERWORLD by Jason Segel

VERDICT: BORROW IT
YOUNG ADULT
Released: Oct. 31, 2017
An exciting start to a mostly well-conceived sci-fi series that has room for improvement. (Science fiction. 12-17)Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 7, 2017
Sure to be a hot gag-gift item inside the Beltway—and to provoke angry tweets from 1600 Pennsylvania Ave. Read full book review >
Released: Nov. 7, 2017
A careful, circumstantial study that compares favorably to Theodore H. White's presidents series and that politics junkies will find irresistible. Read full book review >
WHAT UNITES US by Dan Rather
ESSAYS & ANTHOLOGIES
Released: Nov. 7, 2017
A full-throated celebration of the national spirit and its potential to persevere in spite of dangers foreign and domestic. Read full book review >
HACKS by Donna Brazile
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 7, 2017
A messy, self-serving rationalization of one of the biggest debacles in recent American political history. Read full book review >
THE HOUSE OF UNEXPECTED SISTERS by Alexander McCall Smith
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 7, 2017
Though the No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency increasingly feels more like a therapy group than a commercial enterprise, there's no denying the slow-burning power of its revelations in this 18th installment.Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >