BESTSELLERS

DOPESICK by Beth Macy
Released: Aug. 7, 2018
An urgent, eye-opening look at a problem that promises to grow much worse in the face of inaction and indifference.
Read full book review >
Released: Aug. 7, 2018
Wilson's insider take is hilarious, smartly written, and usually spot-on. Somebody had to do it. Read full book review >

THE MONEY SHOT by Stuart Woods
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 7, 2018
Reliable, pleasantly overplotted, low-impact thrills make this a perfect airplane read the next time you're jetting to La-La Land. Read full book review >
AN UNWANTED GUEST by Shari Lapena

VERDICT: SKIP IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 7, 2018
Dame Agatha did it much, much better. Read full book review >
ALL ARE WELCOME by Alexandra Penfold
Kirkus Star

VERDICT: BUY IT
CHILDREN'S
Released: July 10, 2018
Penfold and Kaufman have outdone themselves in delivering a vital message in today's political climate. Let's hope more people, starting with this picture book's audience, embrace it. (Picture book. 3-8)Read full book review >

BE KIND by Pat Zietlow Miller
by Pat Zietlow Miller, illustrated by Jen Hill

VERDICT: SKIP IT
CHILDREN'S
Released: Feb. 6, 2018
Lovely illustrations work with a somewhat heavy-handed message; effective more as instruction than story. (Picture book. 3-8)Read full book review >
GHOSTED by Rosie Walsh

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 24, 2018
A romantic, sad, and ultimately hopeful book that's perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes. Read full book review >
FROM COLD WAR TO HOT PEACE by Michael McFaul
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 8, 2018
Of interest to observers of the unfolding constitutional crisis as well as of Russia's place in the international order. Read full book review >
FROM THE CORNER OF THE OVAL by Beck Dorey-Stein
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 10, 2018
Gossipy books can be fun; if only this one had been better written. Read full book review >
THE DEATH OF TRUTH by Michiko Kakutani
Released: July 17, 2018
A stark sermon to the choir that urges each member to sing—loudly and ceaselessly. Read full book review >
COTTAGE BY THE SEA by Debbie Macomber

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 17, 2018
Romantic, warm, and a breeze to read—one of Macomber's best. Read full book review >
THE OTHER WOMAN by Daniel Silva
Kirkus Star

VERDICT: BUY IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 17, 2018
Gripping as always and grimly realistic. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >