BESTSELLERS

DOING HARD TIME by Stuart Woods

VERDICT: BORROW IT
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Oct. 8, 2013
The nonstop action is certain to keep fans turning pages, even though the figures Woods is putting through their paces are plot functionaries rather than characters in any meaningful sense. Read full book review >
THE CIRCLE by Dave Eggers

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 8, 2013
Though Eggers strives for a portentous, Orwellian tone, this book mostly feels scolding, a Kurt Vonnegut novel rewritten by the Electronic Frontier Foundation. Read full book review >

STARRY NIGHT by Debbie Macomber

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 8, 2013
Typical Macomber holiday romantic fare: short and sweet and as much a part of the season for some readers as cookies and candy canes. Read full book review >
STORM FRONT by John Sandford

VERDICT: SKIP IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 8, 2013
Quite a departure for Virgil and Lucas, but this is not a case that plays to their considerable strengths. Read full book review >
THE HOUSE OF HADES by Rick Riordan

VERDICT: BUY IT
Released: Oct. 8, 2013
In this adventure, victories are hard-won and the essence of bravery nuanced, making the journey as satisfying as it is entertaining. (Fantasy. 10-14)Read full book review >

UNBREAKABLE by Kami Garcia

VERDICT: SKIP IT
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
This vivid, thoroughly imagined paranormal world will draw readers into its icy realm. (Paranormal romance. 12 & up)Read full book review >
MR. WUFFLES! by David Wiesner
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
Expertly imagined, composed, drawn and colored, this is Wiesner at his best. (Picture book. 4-8)Read full book review >
CLICK, CLACK, BOO! by Doreen Cronin
Released: Aug. 13, 2013
Sweet and silly—good enough for Halloween. (Picture book. 3-6)Read full book review >
TIP AND THE GIPPER by Chris Matthews
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
The idea of compromise and reconciliation being anathema these days, it's no wonder nothing happens on the Hill. Matthews' solid book points to a way out for "people who care about our republic." Read full book review >
PADDLE YOUR OWN CANOE by Nick Offerman
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
Fans of Parks and Recreation and Offerman's brand of deadpan humor are sure to gorge themselves on the healthy portion he provides. Read full book review >
DAVID AND GOLIATH by Malcolm Gladwell
SOCIAL SCIENCES
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
In addition to the top-notch writing one expects from a New Yorker regular, Gladwell rewards readers with moving stories, surprising insights and consistently provocative ideas. Read full book review >
THE OCTOBER LIST by Jeffery Deaver
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
Perhaps the cleverest of all Deaver's exceptionally clever thrillers. If you've ever wished you could take the film Memento to the beach, here's your chance. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Pierce Brown
author of GOLDEN SON
February 17, 2015

With shades of The Hunger Games, Ender’s Game, and Game of Thrones, Pierce Brown’s genre-defying Red Rising hit the ground running. The sequel, Golden Son, continues the saga of Darrow, a rebel battling to lead his oppressed people to freedom. As a Red, Darrow grew up working the mines deep beneath the surface of Mars, enduring backbreaking labor while dreaming of the better future he was building for his descendants. But the Society he faithfully served was built on lies. Darrow’s kind have been betrayed and denied by their elitist masters, the Golds—and their only path to liberation is revolution. “Stirring—and archetypal—stuff,” our reviewer writes. View video >