BESTSELLERS

LOOKING FOR ALASKA by John Green
Kirkus Star

VERDICT: BUY IT
FICTION
Released: March 1, 2005
Girls will cry and boys will find love, lust, loss and longing in Alaska's vanilla-and-cigarettes scent. (Fiction. YA) Read full book review >
PETE THE CAT by Eric Litwin
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 2, 2010
Pete may seem like an appealing role model to adults, but any child who has experienced the smirching of a new pair of shoes probably won't buy the cool he's peddling. (Picture book. 3-5)Read full book review >

THE NIXON DEFENSE by John W. Dean
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 29, 2014
Essential to anyone's library of Nixoniana. Read full book review >
THE INVISIBLE BRIDGE by Rick Perlstein
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
A compelling, astute chronicle of the politics and culture of late-20th-century America. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
A grand and grim narrative of thrilling exploration for fans of Into Thin Air, Mountains of the Moon and the like. Read full book review >

TOP SECRET by W.E.B. Griffin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
G-fans will not be disappointed. Read full book review >
THE LOST ISLAND by Douglas Preston
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
Preston and Child keep an eye out for the legendary and introduce Cyclops, mystical humanoid, to stretch the boundaries of the action-adventure novel. Read full book review >
THE MAGICIAN'S LAND by Lev Grossman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
The essence of being a magician, as Quentin learns to define it, could easily serve as a thumbnail description of Grossman's art: "the power to enchant the world." Read full book review >
RETURN OF THE PADAWAN! by Jeffrey Brown
by Jeffrey Brown, illustrated by Jeffrey Brown

VERDICT: BORROW IT
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: July 29, 2014
Future installments—and further disasters—will be most welcome. (Graphic fantasy. 8-12)Read full book review >
A SPY AMONG FRIENDS by Ben Macintyre
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 29, 2014
Gripping and as well-crafted as an episode of Smiley's People, full of cynical inevitability, secrets, lashings of whiskey and corpses. Read full book review >
LUCKY US by Amy Bloom
Kirkus Star

VERDICT: BUY IT
Released: July 29, 2014
Bloom enlivens her story with understated humor as well as offbeat and unforgettable characters. Despite a couple of anachronisms, this is a hard-luck coming-of-age story with heart. Read full book review >
BIG LITTLE LIES by Liane Moriarty
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: July 29, 2014
Deservedly popular Moriarty invigorates the tired social-issue formula of women's fiction through wit, good humor, sharp insight into human nature and addictive storytelling. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Michael Eric Dyson
February 2, 2016

In Michael Eric Dyson’s rich and nuanced book new book, The Black Presidency: Barack Obama and the Politics of Race in America, Dyson writes with passion and understanding about Barack Obama’s “sad and disappointing” performance regarding race and black concerns in his two terms in office. While race has defined his tenure, Obama has been “reluctant to take charge” and speak out candidly about the nation’s racial woes, determined to remain “not a black leader but a leader who is black.” Dyson cogently examines Obama’s speeches and statements on race, from his first presidential campaign through recent events—e.g., the Ferguson riots and the eulogy for the Rev. Clementa Pinckney in Charleston—noting that the president is careful not to raise the ire of whites and often chastises blacks for their moral failings. At his best, he spoke with “special urgency for black Americans” during the Ferguson crisis and was “at his blackest,” breaking free of constraints, in his “Amazing Grace” Charleston eulogy. Dyson writes here as a realistic, sometimes-angry supporter of the president. View video >