BESTSELLERS

DOING HARD TIME by Stuart Woods

VERDICT: BORROW IT
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Oct. 8, 2013
The nonstop action is certain to keep fans turning pages, even though the figures Woods is putting through their paces are plot functionaries rather than characters in any meaningful sense. Read full book review >
THE CIRCLE by Dave Eggers

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 8, 2013
Though Eggers strives for a portentous, Orwellian tone, this book mostly feels scolding, a Kurt Vonnegut novel rewritten by the Electronic Frontier Foundation. Read full book review >

STARRY NIGHT by Debbie Macomber

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 8, 2013
Typical Macomber holiday romantic fare: short and sweet and as much a part of the season for some readers as cookies and candy canes. Read full book review >
STORM FRONT by John Sandford

VERDICT: SKIP IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 8, 2013
Quite a departure for Virgil and Lucas, but this is not a case that plays to their considerable strengths. Read full book review >
THE HOUSE OF HADES by Rick Riordan

VERDICT: BUY IT
Released: Oct. 8, 2013
In this adventure, victories are hard-won and the essence of bravery nuanced, making the journey as satisfying as it is entertaining. (Fantasy. 10-14)Read full book review >

UNBREAKABLE by Kami Garcia

VERDICT: SKIP IT
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
This vivid, thoroughly imagined paranormal world will draw readers into its icy realm. (Paranormal romance. 12 & up)Read full book review >
MR. WUFFLES! by David Wiesner
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
Expertly imagined, composed, drawn and colored, this is Wiesner at his best. (Picture book. 4-8)Read full book review >
CLICK, CLACK, BOO! by Doreen Cronin
Released: Aug. 13, 2013
Sweet and silly—good enough for Halloween. (Picture book. 3-6)Read full book review >
TIP AND THE GIPPER by Chris Matthews
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
The idea of compromise and reconciliation being anathema these days, it's no wonder nothing happens on the Hill. Matthews' solid book points to a way out for "people who care about our republic." Read full book review >
PADDLE YOUR OWN CANOE by Nick Offerman
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
Fans of Parks and Recreation and Offerman's brand of deadpan humor are sure to gorge themselves on the healthy portion he provides. Read full book review >
DAVID AND GOLIATH by Malcolm Gladwell
SOCIAL SCIENCES
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
In addition to the top-notch writing one expects from a New Yorker regular, Gladwell rewards readers with moving stories, surprising insights and consistently provocative ideas. Read full book review >
THE OCTOBER LIST by Jeffery Deaver
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
Perhaps the cleverest of all Deaver's exceptionally clever thrillers. If you've ever wished you could take the film Memento to the beach, here's your chance. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Bill Browder
author of RED NOTICE
March 24, 2015

Bill Browder’s Red Notice is a nonfiction political thriller about an American financier in the Wild East of Russia, the murder of his principled young tax attorney, and his mission to expose the Kremlin’s corruption. In 2007, a group of Russian law enforcement officers raided Browder’s offices in Moscow and stole $230 million of taxes that his fund’s companies had paid to the Russian government. Browder’s attorney Sergei Magnitsky investigated the incident and uncovered a sprawling criminal enterprise. A month after Sergei testified against the officials involved, he was arrested and thrown into pre-trial detention, where he was tortured for a year. On November 16, 2009, he was led to an isolation chamber, handcuffed to a bedrail, and beaten to death by eight guards in full riot gear. “It may be that ‘Russian stories never have happy endings,’ ” our reviewer writes about Red Notice, “but Browder’s account more than compensates by ferociously unmasking Putin’s thugocracy.” View video >