BESTSELLERS

Released: Aug. 27, 2013
Significant historical acts and events are here put into unique perspective by a participant. (Memoir. 11-14)Read full book review >
THE DEATH TRADE by Jack Higgins

VERDICT: SKIP IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 31, 2013
Brief thrills but continuous action. Read full book review >

HAZARDOUS DUTY by W.E.B. Griffin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 31, 2013
This SNL-meets-Spy vs. Spy story isn't Carl Hiaasen laugh-out-loud funny, but Griffin draws what humor he can from once-upon-a-time deeds of derring-do, complex plans to divert a president's lunacies, Gulfstream V continent-hopping and zero action. Read full book review >
I FUNNY by James Patterson
Released: Dec. 12, 2012
The affecting ending, which reveals a more vulnerable Jamie behind the guise of his humor, celebrates Jamie's resilient spirit. (Fiction. 10-13)Read full book review >
SYCAMORE ROW by John Grisham

VERDICT: BUY IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 22, 2013
Trademark Grisham, with carefully situated echoes of To Kill a Mockingbird. A top-notch thriller. Read full book review >

THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS by Clement C. Moore
by Clement C. Moore, illustrated by Eric Puybaret

VERDICT: BUY IT
POETRY
Released: Nov. 1, 2010
Add in the generous trim, and this one's worth making room for. (Picture book. 2 & up) Read full book review >
ONE SUMMER by Bill Bryson
HISTORY
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
A distinctively drawn time capsule from a definitive epoch. Read full book review >
THE LONGEST RIDE by Nicholas Sparks

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 17, 2013
Just the sort of thing for Sparks buffs. Read full book review >
BEAUTIFUL CREATURES by Kami Garcia
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Jan. 1, 2010
Ethan's wry narrative voice will resonate with readers of John Green as well as the hordes of supernatural-romance fans looking for the next book to sink their teeth into. (Paranormal romance. 12 & up) Read full book review >
I'M A FROG by Mo Willems
by Mo Willems, illustrated by Mo Willems

VERDICT: BORROW IT
Released: Oct. 15, 2013
Children aren't likely to need the instruction, but the validation may be helpful to counter imagination-repressing parents or older sibs. (Early reader. 4-8)Read full book review >
BIG NATE by Lincoln Peirce
by Lincoln Peirce, illustrated by Lincoln Peirce

VERDICT: BUY IT
Released: April 1, 2010
Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid. Thank goodness sequels are planned. (Final art not seen.)(Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)Read full book review >
WHAT DOES THE FOX SAY? by Ylvis

VERDICT: SKIP IT
Released: Dec. 10, 2013
Why spend $17.99 when you can listen to it for free on YouTube? (Picture book. 4-8)Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Beatriz Williams
June 23, 2015

In Beatriz Williams’ latest novel Tiny Little Thing, it’s the summer of 1966 and Christina Hardcastle—“Tiny” to her illustrious family—stands on the brink of a breathtaking future. Of the three Schuyler sisters, she’s the one raised to marry a man destined for leadership, and with her elegance and impeccable style, she presents a perfect camera-ready image in the dawning age of television politics. Together she and her husband, Frank, make the ultimate power couple: intelligent, rich, and impossibly attractive. It seems nothing can stop Frank from rising to national office, and he’s got his sights set on a senate seat in November. But as the season gets underway at the family estate on Cape Cod, three unwelcome visitors appear in Tiny’s perfect life. “A fascinating look at wealth, love, ambition, secrets, and what family members will and won’t do to protect each other,” our reviewer writes. View video >