BESTSELLERS

STANDUP GUY by Stuart Woods

VERDICT: SKIP IT
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Jan. 7, 2014
The subplots lead nowhere, and the main upshot of Fratelli's little problem is some uncharacteristically salty language. Read full book review >
THE INVENTION OF WINGS by Sue Monk Kidd
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 7, 2014
Kidd's portrait of white slave-owning Southerners is all the more harrowing for showing them as morally complicated, while she gives Handful the dignity of being not simply a victim, but a strong, imperfect woman. Read full book review >

Released: Aug. 27, 2013
Significant historical acts and events are here put into unique perspective by a participant. (Memoir. 11-14)Read full book review >
THE DEATH TRADE by Jack Higgins

VERDICT: SKIP IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 31, 2013
Brief thrills but continuous action. Read full book review >
HAZARDOUS DUTY by W.E.B. Griffin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 31, 2013
This SNL-meets-Spy vs. Spy story isn't Carl Hiaasen laugh-out-loud funny, but Griffin draws what humor he can from once-upon-a-time deeds of derring-do, complex plans to divert a president's lunacies, Gulfstream V continent-hopping and zero action. Read full book review >

I FUNNY by James Patterson
Released: Dec. 12, 2012
The affecting ending, which reveals a more vulnerable Jamie behind the guise of his humor, celebrates Jamie's resilient spirit. (Fiction. 10-13)Read full book review >
SYCAMORE ROW by John Grisham

VERDICT: BUY IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 22, 2013
Trademark Grisham, with carefully situated echoes of To Kill a Mockingbird. A top-notch thriller. Read full book review >
THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS by Clement C. Moore
by Clement C. Moore, illustrated by Eric Puybaret

VERDICT: BUY IT
POETRY
Released: Nov. 1, 2010
Add in the generous trim, and this one's worth making room for. (Picture book. 2 & up) Read full book review >
ONE SUMMER by Bill Bryson
HISTORY
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
A distinctively drawn time capsule from a definitive epoch. Read full book review >
THE LONGEST RIDE by Nicholas Sparks

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 17, 2013
Just the sort of thing for Sparks buffs. Read full book review >
BEAUTIFUL CREATURES by Kami Garcia
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Jan. 1, 2010
Ethan's wry narrative voice will resonate with readers of John Green as well as the hordes of supernatural-romance fans looking for the next book to sink their teeth into. (Paranormal romance. 12 & up) Read full book review >
BIG NATE by Lincoln Peirce
by Lincoln Peirce, illustrated by Lincoln Peirce

VERDICT: BUY IT
Released: April 1, 2010
Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid. Thank goodness sequels are planned. (Final art not seen.)(Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jenny Han
July 6, 2015

In Jenny Han’s P.S. I Still Love You, Lara Jean didn’t expect to really fall for Peter. She and Peter were just pretending. Except suddenly they weren’t. Now Lara Jean is more confused than ever. When another boy from her past returns to her life, Lara Jean’s feelings for him return too. Can a girl be in love with two boys at once? In this charming and heartfelt sequel to the New York Times bestseller To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, we see first love through the eyes of the unforgettable Lara Jean. Love is never easy, but maybe that’s part of makes it so amazing. View video >