BESTSELLERS

ONE SUMMER by Bill Bryson
HISTORY
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
A distinctively drawn time capsule from a definitive epoch. Read full book review >
THE LONGEST RIDE by Nicholas Sparks

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Sept. 17, 2013
Just the sort of thing for Sparks buffs. Read full book review >

BEAUTIFUL CREATURES by Kami Garcia
BEDTIME BOOK
Released: Jan. 1, 2010
Ethan's wry narrative voice will resonate with readers of John Green as well as the hordes of supernatural-romance fans looking for the next book to sink their teeth into. (Paranormal romance. 12 & up) Read full book review >
I'M A FROG by Mo Willems
by Mo Willems, illustrated by Mo Willems

VERDICT: BORROW IT
Released: Oct. 15, 2013
Children aren't likely to need the instruction, but the validation may be helpful to counter imagination-repressing parents or older sibs. (Early reader. 4-8)Read full book review >
BIG NATE by Lincoln Peirce
by Lincoln Peirce, illustrated by Lincoln Peirce

VERDICT: BUY IT
Released: April 1, 2010
Perfect for fans of Jeff Kinney's Wimpy Kid. Thank goodness sequels are planned. (Final art not seen.)(Graphic/fiction hybrid. 7-11)Read full book review >

WHAT DOES THE FOX SAY? by Ylvis

VERDICT: SKIP IT
Released: Dec. 10, 2013
Why spend $17.99 when you can listen to it for free on YouTube? (Picture book. 4-8)Read full book review >
INNOCENCE by Dean Koontz

VERDICT: BUY IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Jan. 10, 2014
Something different this way comes from Mr. Koontz's imagination. Enjoy. Read full book review >
THE TESTING by Joelle Charbonneau

VERDICT: BORROW IT
Released: June 4, 2013
Though genre elements are in place, this page-turner earns an A for freshness. (Dystopian adventure. 12 & up) Read full book review >
THE KID by Ben Bradlee Jr.
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Dec. 3, 2013
An outstanding addition to the literature of baseball. Read full book review >
THE GODS OF GUILT by Michael Connelly

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Dec. 2, 2013
Not much of a thriller or a mystery, but illuminating about the ways in which the law works and doesn't. Read full book review >
COMMAND AUTHORITY by Tom Clancy
Released: Dec. 3, 2013
Likely not the last installment in the Ryan saga—not with a world full of terrorists, disgruntled KGB types and Venezuelans. Read full book review >
THE SUPREME MACARONI COMPANY by Adriana Trigiani
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Nov. 5, 2013
Fans of Trigiani's Valentine books will find plenty of fodder here. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Sara Paretsky
author of BRUSH BACK
July 28, 2015

No one would accuse V. I. Warshawski of backing down from a fight, but there are a few she’d be happy to avoid. High on that list is tangling with Chicago political bosses. Yet that’s precisely what she ends up doing when she responds to Frank Guzzo’s plea for help in Brush Back, the latest thriller from bestselling author Sara Paretsky. For six stormy weeks back in high school, V.I. thought she was in love with Frank. He broke up with her, she went off to college, he started driving trucks for Bagby Haulage. She forgot about him until the day his mother was convicted of bludgeoning his kid sister, Annie, to death. Stella Guzzo was an angry, uncooperative prisoner and did a full 25 years for her daughter’s murder. Newly released from prison, Stella is looking for exoneration, so Frank asks V.I. for help. “Paretsky, who plots more conscientiously than anyone else in the field, digs deep, then deeper, into past and present until all is revealed,” our reviewer writes. View video >