BESTSELLERS

TIP AND THE GIPPER by Chris Matthews
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
The idea of compromise and reconciliation being anathema these days, it's no wonder nothing happens on the Hill. Matthews' solid book points to a way out for "people who care about our republic." Read full book review >
PADDLE YOUR OWN CANOE by Nick Offerman
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
Fans of Parks and Recreation and Offerman's brand of deadpan humor are sure to gorge themselves on the healthy portion he provides. Read full book review >

DAVID AND GOLIATH by Malcolm Gladwell
SOCIAL SCIENCES
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
In addition to the top-notch writing one expects from a New Yorker regular, Gladwell rewards readers with moving stories, surprising insights and consistently provocative ideas. Read full book review >
THE OCTOBER LIST by Jeffery Deaver
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
Perhaps the cleverest of all Deaver's exceptionally clever thrillers. If you've ever wished you could take the film Memento to the beach, here's your chance. Read full book review >
SPIDER WOMAN'S DAUGHTER by Anne Hillerman
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
With big shoes to fill, Hillerman does her best to copy the style of her father Tony's beloved series (The Shape Shifter, 2006, etc.), maintaining the integrity of Navajo culture throughout. Fans will spot the guilty party a mile off. Read full book review >

SILENCING EVE by Iris Johansen

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
An arresting conclusion to the Eve Duncan trilogy. Read full book review >
THE SIGNATURE OF ALL THINGS by Elizabeth Gilbert
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
A brilliant exercise of intellect and imagination. Read full book review >
BATTLE MAGIC by Tamora Pierce

VERDICT: SKIP IT
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
Pierce herself has teeming armies of fans, guaranteeing that this routine, cozily predictable outing will be a huge seller. (map, glossary) (Fantasy. 10-14)Read full book review >
STEELHEART by Brandon Sanderson

VERDICT: SKIP IT
Released: Sept. 24, 2013
There's violence and gore in profusion, cool gear, hot wheels, awesome feats, inner conflicts on both sides—all that's missing are the pictures. (Fantasy. 11-14)Read full book review >
FLORA & ULYSSES by Kate DiCamillo
Released: Sept. 24, 2013
Original, touching and oh-so-funny tale starring an endearingly implausible superhero and a not-so-cynical girl. (Fantasy. 8-12)Read full book review >
LADYBUG GIRL AND THE BIG SNOW by David Soman
by David Soman, Jacky Davis, illustrated by David Soman

VERDICT: BORROW IT
Released: Sept. 17, 2013
A fine choice for young readers on a cold winter night, especially when enjoyed with a cup of hot chocolate in front of a fire like the one Ladybug Girl, Bingo and her brother curl up in front of. (Picture book. 3-8)Read full book review >
CATASTROPHE 1914 by Max Hastings
HISTORY
Released: Sept. 24, 2013
Among the plethora of brilliant accounts of this period, this is one of the best. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Luis Alberto Urrea
April 21, 2015

Examining the borders between one nation and another, between one person and another, Luis Alberto Urrea’s latest story collection, The Water Museum, reveals his mastery of the short form. This collection includes the Edgar-award winning "Amapola" and his now-classic "Bid Farewell to Her Many Horses," which had the honor of being chosen for NPR's "Selected Shorts" not once but twice. Urrea has also recently published a poetry collection, Tijuana Book of the Dead, mixing lyricism and colloquial voices, mysticism and the daily grind. We talk to Urrea about both of his new books this week on Kirkus TV. View video >