BESTSELLERS

FOOL'S ASSASSIN by Robin Hobb

VERDICT: SKIP IT
SCIENCE FICTION & FANTASY
Released: Aug. 12, 2014
Hobb is hardly the first to stumble in reviving a long-dormant series, nor will she be the last. Read full book review >
THE SIXTH EXTINCTION by James Rollins
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 12, 2014
Tune in to find out. Literature it's not—more like an industrial product that sort of looks like it, in the same way that a fast-food burger resembles food. Still, it's plenty tasty, if not very nutritious. Read full book review >

LOVE LETTERS by Debbie Macomber

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 12, 2014
Hurt feelings are mended in believable and unexpectedly uplifting ways, and a cliffhanger ending for Jo Marie begs for a swift resolution in the next book. Read full book review >
COLORLESS TSUKURU TAZAKI AND HIS YEARS OF PILGRIMAGE by Haruki Murakami
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 12, 2014
Another tour de force from Japan's greatest living novelist. Read full book review >
LOOKING FOR ALASKA by John Green
Kirkus Star

VERDICT: BUY IT
FICTION
Released: March 1, 2005
Girls will cry and boys will find love, lust, loss and longing in Alaska's vanilla-and-cigarettes scent. (Fiction. YA) Read full book review >

PETE THE CAT by Eric Litwin
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 2, 2010
Pete may seem like an appealing role model to adults, but any child who has experienced the smirching of a new pair of shoes probably won't buy the cool he's peddling. (Picture book. 3-5)Read full book review >
THE NIXON DEFENSE by John W. Dean
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 29, 2014
Essential to anyone's library of Nixoniana. Read full book review >
THE INVISIBLE BRIDGE by Rick Perlstein
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
A compelling, astute chronicle of the politics and culture of late-20th-century America. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
A grand and grim narrative of thrilling exploration for fans of Into Thin Air, Mountains of the Moon and the like. Read full book review >
TOP SECRET by W.E.B. Griffin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
G-fans will not be disappointed. Read full book review >
THE LOST ISLAND by Douglas Preston
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
Preston and Child keep an eye out for the legendary and introduce Cyclops, mystical humanoid, to stretch the boundaries of the action-adventure novel. Read full book review >
THE MAGICIAN'S LAND by Lev Grossman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
The essence of being a magician, as Quentin learns to define it, could easily serve as a thumbnail description of Grossman's art: "the power to enchant the world." Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Fernanda Santos
author of THE FIRE LINE
May 17, 2016

When a bolt of lightning ignited a hilltop in the sleepy town of Yarnell, Arizona, in June 2013, setting off a blaze that would grow into one of the deadliest fires in American history, the 20 men who made up the Granite Mountain Hotshots sprang into action. New York Times writer Fernanda Santos’ debut book The Fire Line is the story of the fire and the Hotshots’ attempts to extinguish it. An elite crew trained to combat the most challenging wildfires, the Hotshots were a ragtag family, crisscrossing the American West and wherever else the fires took them. There's Eric Marsh, their devoted and demanding superintendent who turned his own personal demons into lessons he used to mold, train and guide his crew; Jesse Steed, their captain, a former Marine, a beast on the fire line and a family man who wasn’t afraid to say “I love you” to the firemen he led; Andrew Ashcraft, a team leader still in his 20s who struggled to balance his love for his beautiful wife and four children and his passion for fighting wildfires. We see this band of brothers at work, at play and at home, until a fire that burned in their own backyards leads to a national tragedy. View video >