BESTSELLERS

LOVE LETTERS by Debbie Macomber

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 12, 2014
Hurt feelings are mended in believable and unexpectedly uplifting ways, and a cliffhanger ending for Jo Marie begs for a swift resolution in the next book. Read full book review >
COLORLESS TSUKURU TAZAKI AND HIS YEARS OF PILGRIMAGE by Haruki Murakami
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 12, 2014
Another tour de force from Japan's greatest living novelist. Read full book review >

LOOKING FOR ALASKA by John Green
Kirkus Star

VERDICT: BUY IT
FICTION
Released: March 1, 2005
Girls will cry and boys will find love, lust, loss and longing in Alaska's vanilla-and-cigarettes scent. (Fiction. YA) Read full book review >
PETE THE CAT by Eric Litwin
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: March 2, 2010
Pete may seem like an appealing role model to adults, but any child who has experienced the smirching of a new pair of shoes probably won't buy the cool he's peddling. (Picture book. 3-5)Read full book review >
THE NIXON DEFENSE by John W. Dean
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 29, 2014
Essential to anyone's library of Nixoniana. Read full book review >

THE INVISIBLE BRIDGE by Rick Perlstein
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
A compelling, astute chronicle of the politics and culture of late-20th-century America. Read full book review >
HISTORY
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
A grand and grim narrative of thrilling exploration for fans of Into Thin Air, Mountains of the Moon and the like. Read full book review >
TOP SECRET by W.E.B. Griffin
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
G-fans will not be disappointed. Read full book review >
THE LOST ISLAND by Douglas Preston
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
Preston and Child keep an eye out for the legendary and introduce Cyclops, mystical humanoid, to stretch the boundaries of the action-adventure novel. Read full book review >
THE MAGICIAN'S LAND by Lev Grossman
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Aug. 5, 2014
The essence of being a magician, as Quentin learns to define it, could easily serve as a thumbnail description of Grossman's art: "the power to enchant the world." Read full book review >
RETURN OF THE PADAWAN! by Jeffrey Brown
by Jeffrey Brown, illustrated by Jeffrey Brown

VERDICT: BORROW IT
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: July 29, 2014
Future installments—and further disasters—will be most welcome. (Graphic fantasy. 8-12)Read full book review >
A SPY AMONG FRIENDS by Ben Macintyre
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: July 29, 2014
Gripping and as well-crafted as an episode of Smiley's People, full of cynical inevitability, secrets, lashings of whiskey and corpses. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Chris Cleave
June 14, 2016

In bestseller Chris Cleave’s latest novel Everyone Brave Is Forgiven, it’s London, 1939. The day war is declared, Mary North leaves finishing school unfinished, goes straight to the War Office, and signs up. Tom Shaw decides to ignore the war—until he learns his roommate Alistair Heath has unexpectedly enlisted. Then the conflict can no longer be avoided. Young, bright, and brave, Mary is certain she’d be a marvelous spy. When she is—bewilderingly—made a teacher, she finds herself defying prejudice to protect the children her country would rather forget. Tom, meanwhile, finds that he will do anything for Mary. And when Mary and Alistair meet, it is love, as well as war, that will test them in ways they could not have imagined, entangling three lives in violence and passion, friendship and deception, inexorably shaping their hopes and dreams. “Among all the recent fictions about the war, Cleave’s miniseries of a novel is a surprising standout,” our reviewer writes, “with irresistibly engaging characters who sharply illuminate issues of class, race, and wartime morality.” View video >