BESTSELLERS

TIP AND THE GIPPER by Chris Matthews
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
The idea of compromise and reconciliation being anathema these days, it's no wonder nothing happens on the Hill. Matthews' solid book points to a way out for "people who care about our republic." Read full book review >
PADDLE YOUR OWN CANOE by Nick Offerman
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
Fans of Parks and Recreation and Offerman's brand of deadpan humor are sure to gorge themselves on the healthy portion he provides. Read full book review >

DAVID AND GOLIATH by Malcolm Gladwell
SOCIAL SCIENCES
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
In addition to the top-notch writing one expects from a New Yorker regular, Gladwell rewards readers with moving stories, surprising insights and consistently provocative ideas. Read full book review >
THE OCTOBER LIST by Jeffery Deaver
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
Perhaps the cleverest of all Deaver's exceptionally clever thrillers. If you've ever wished you could take the film Memento to the beach, here's your chance. Read full book review >
SPIDER WOMAN'S DAUGHTER by Anne Hillerman
MYSTERY & CRIME
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
With big shoes to fill, Hillerman does her best to copy the style of her father Tony's beloved series (The Shape Shifter, 2006, etc.), maintaining the integrity of Navajo culture throughout. Fans will spot the guilty party a mile off. Read full book review >

SILENCING EVE by Iris Johansen

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
An arresting conclusion to the Eve Duncan trilogy. Read full book review >
THE SIGNATURE OF ALL THINGS by Elizabeth Gilbert
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
A brilliant exercise of intellect and imagination. Read full book review >
BATTLE MAGIC by Tamora Pierce

VERDICT: SKIP IT
Released: Oct. 1, 2013
Pierce herself has teeming armies of fans, guaranteeing that this routine, cozily predictable outing will be a huge seller. (map, glossary) (Fantasy. 10-14)Read full book review >
STEELHEART by Brandon Sanderson

VERDICT: SKIP IT
Released: Sept. 24, 2013
There's violence and gore in profusion, cool gear, hot wheels, awesome feats, inner conflicts on both sides—all that's missing are the pictures. (Fantasy. 11-14)Read full book review >
FLORA & ULYSSES by Kate DiCamillo
Released: Sept. 24, 2013
Original, touching and oh-so-funny tale starring an endearingly implausible superhero and a not-so-cynical girl. (Fantasy. 8-12)Read full book review >
LADYBUG GIRL AND THE BIG SNOW by David Soman
by David Soman, Jacky Davis, illustrated by David Soman

VERDICT: BORROW IT
Released: Sept. 17, 2013
A fine choice for young readers on a cold winter night, especially when enjoyed with a cup of hot chocolate in front of a fire like the one Ladybug Girl, Bingo and her brother curl up in front of. (Picture book. 3-8)Read full book review >
CATASTROPHE 1914 by Max Hastings
HISTORY
Released: Sept. 24, 2013
Among the plethora of brilliant accounts of this period, this is one of the best. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jude Deveraux
author of EVER AFTER
July 1, 2015

New York Times bestselling author Jude Deveraux's eagerly awaited Ever After, the third novel in her blockbuster Nantucket Brides trilogy, continues the saga of the Montgomery-Taggerts, set on an island steeped in beauty and unforgettable romance. Life is anything but perfect for Hallie Hartley, a young physical therapist who has given up nearly everything—even her love life—for her beautiful blonde stepsister, Shelly. Though Shelly's acting career has never taken off, she has certainly perfected the crocodile tears to get what she wants—which all too often means Hallie's boyfriends. When Hallie arrives home early from work one fateful day, she makes two startling discoveries that will turn her life upside down. "This sexy, lighthearted romp brings the series to a satisfying close," our reviewer writes. View video >