BESTSELLERS

BARKSKINS by Annie Proulx
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 14, 2016
Another tremendous book from Proulx, sure to find and enthrall many readers. Read full book review >
HERE'S TO US by Elin Hilderbrand

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 14, 2016
No one captures the flavor and experience of a summer place—the outdoor showers, the seafood, the sand in the floorboards—like Hilderbrand. Read full book review >

TOM CLANCY DUTY AND HONOR  by Grant Blackwood
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 14, 2016
Action-adventure addicts will get their fixes. Read full book review >
THE GIRLS by Emma Cline

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 14, 2016
Vivid and ambitious. Read full book review >
LOCKER HERO by Rachel Renée Russell
CHILDREN'S AND TEEN
Released: June 7, 2016
This spinoff is heavy on the poop jokes and light on almost everything else—readers expecting a boy Dork Diaries with equal nuance may be surprised. (Graphic/fiction hybrid. 8-12)Read full book review >

THE RISE AND FALL OF NATIONS by Ruchir Sharma
BUSINESS & ECONOMICS
Released: June 7, 2016
Evenhanded, measured, sage advice on the global economy. Read full book review >
GRUNT by Mary Roach
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: June 7, 2016
Battlefield R&D is a topic too fascinating to ruin, so readers who can tolerate the author's relentless flippancy will not regret the experience. Read full book review >
BUT WHAT IF WE'RE WRONG? by Chuck Klosterman
CURRENT AFFAIRS
Released: June 7, 2016
Replete with lots of nifty, whimsical footnotes, this clever, speculative book challenges our beliefs with jocularity and perspicacity. Read full book review >
HOMEGOING by Yaa Gyasi

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 7, 2016
A promising debut that's awake to emotional, political, and cultural tensions across time and continents. Read full book review >
I ALMOST FORGOT ABOUT YOU by Terry McMillan
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 7, 2016
A heartwarming story that reminds us of the pure joy of believing in love. Read full book review >
THE HOUSE OF SECRETS by Brad Meltzer
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 7, 2016
"When you've faced the impossible, it's usually because someone's lying," the traumatized heroine is assured. True enough. The apparently formidable premise behind this tale dissolves in a shower of lies, and the ambitious plot sags as the principals crisscross the globe pumping up their frequent flier miles. Read full book review >
END OF WATCH by Stephen King

VERDICT: BORROW IT
FICTION & LITERATURE
Released: June 7, 2016
Gleefully gross. And a few of the principals even outlive the tale, meaning there's hope for a sequel, assuming King wants to play with the definition of trilogy, too.... Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Jeff Chang
September 20, 2016

In the provocative essays in journalist Jeff Chang’s new book We Gon’ Be Alright, Chang takes an incisive and wide-ranging look at the recent tragedies and widespread protests that have shaken the country. Through deep reporting with key activists and thinkers, personal writing, and cultural criticism, We Gon’ Be Alright links #BlackLivesMatter to #OscarsSoWhite, Ferguson to Washington D.C., the Great Migration to resurgent nativism. Chang explores the rise and fall of the idea of “diversity,” the roots of student protest, changing ideas about Asian Americanness, and the impact of a century of racial separation in housing. “He implores readers to listen, act, and become involved with today’s activists, who offer ‘new ways to see our past and our present,’ ” our reviewer writes in a starred review. “A compelling and intellectually thought-provoking exploration of the quagmire of race relations.” View video >