Biography & Memoir Book Reviews (page 4)

ABBA EBAN by Asaf Siniver
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 3, 2015

"Based on interviews with dozens of people and research in more than 20 archival collections, Siniver's sympathetic, cleareyed biography deserves to be called definitive."
The biography of a defender of Israel who advocated diplomacy over war. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 15, 2015

"An urgent but evenhanded treatise that deserves a wide readership."
In Norwegian-born attorney Turrettini's dispiriting estimation, there are plenty of lone wolves out there, young men—almost always young men—so disconnected from the world that killing is the only form of self-expression they think is left to them. Read full book review >

ANDY AND DON by Daniel de Visé
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 3, 2015

"The author's affection for his principals permeates all, brightening the dark corners and dulling the jagged edges."
Veteran journalist de Visé (co-author, with Su Meck: I Forgot to Remember, 2014) returns with a plethora of memories about actors Andy Griffith and Don Knotts, who propelled The Andy Griffith Show to enormous popularity in the 1960s.Read full book review >
SOUNDS LIKE ME by Sara Bareilles
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 6, 2015

"A breezy, upbeat, and honest reflection of this multitalented artist."
A chart-topping singer/songwriter exposes "the inner workings of my mind and my heart" through this intimate essay collection anchored with music and humor. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 9, 2015

"Ably captures the antic spirit of the New Yorker's first heyday."
A fresh view of the much-chronicled magazine, focused on the three writers/editors who, with founder Harold Ross, shaped its sophisticated stance in the years between the world wars. Read full book review >

Murder at San Quentin by Edward George
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 31, 2015

"A novel glimpse behind the scenes of an incarceration facility during a radical period in American history."
George (The Bishop's Folly, 2014, etc.) offers a memoir about his time spent working at an infamous California prison. Read full book review >
AUTOBIOGRAPHY OF MARK TWAIN, VOLUME 3 by Mark Twain
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Oct. 15, 2015

"Of considerable interest to all readers of Twain but especially to working writers following Twain's habit of tracking his astonishing writing income—even though, as he writes, 'if I should run out of all other nourishment I believe I could live on compliments.'"
In which the greatest of American writers goes into the night—and not such a good night at that, and not at all gently. Read full book review >
At the Teahouse Café by Isham Cook
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"An odd book of essays offering inconsistent views of modern China."
Cook (Massage and the Writer, 2014, etc.) offers essays detailing his observations of Chinese life, culled from his years of living there. Read full book review >
Rambler Rose by Teri  Metcalf
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 16, 2015

"A humorous and colorful, if unevenly paced, coming-of-age story."
Metcalf's memoir explores growing up in 1950s and '60s California with a complicated family. Read full book review >
CRAVE by Laurie Jean Cannady
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 10, 2015

"A bold, honest, and courageous memoir."
A young black woman's searing debut memoir about growing up poor and facing the challenges of both physical and emotional hunger. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 3, 2015

"One of the most absorbing and empowering science histories to hit the shelves in recent years."
One of the world's most renowned and forward-thinking oncologists recounts 35 years of cancer research and tells us why we should be optimistic about the future. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Nov. 3, 2015

"A well-honed work of driving focus, particularly timely in this new era of economic inequality."
The acclaimed Lincoln scholar and an economist make the argument that Abraham Lincoln worked tirelessly to maintain economic opportunity for all people—a "right to rise" concept that has been sacred to politicians from then to the present. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Vanessa Diffenbaugh
September 1, 2015

Vanessa Diffenbaugh is the New York Timesbestselling author of The Language of Flowers; her new novel, We Never Asked for Wings, is about young love, hard choices, and hope against all odds. For 14 years, Letty Espinosa has worked three jobs around San Francisco to make ends meet while her mother raised her children—Alex, now 15, and Luna, six—in their tiny apartment on a forgotten spit of wetlands near the bay. But now Letty’s parents are returning to Mexico, and Letty must step up and become a mother for the first time in her life. “Diffenbaugh’s latest confirms her gift for creating shrewd, sympathetic charmers,” our reviewer writes. View video >