Biography & Memoir Book Reviews (page 4)

TRAVELS WITH CHARLIZE by David R. Gross
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: Jan. 29, 2015

"A poignant, ultimately uplifting travel narrative that ends too quickly."
In this memoir, a retired veterinarian and cardiovascular researcher takes to the highways and back roads of the West Coast with his dog, seeking solace and purpose. Read full book review >
Auschwitz #34207 by Nancy Sprowell Geise
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: March 1, 2015

"A riveting, well-documented account of survival that's harrowing, inspiring and unforgettable."
Debut biographer Geise (The Eighth Sea, 2012) tells the remarkable story of Joe Rubinstein, a survivor of the Holocaust. Read full book review >

STALIN by Oleg V. Khlevniuk
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 19, 2015

"An ambitious yet manageable biography of Stalin, this book sheds new light on its subject for amateur historians and experts alike."
Khlevniuk (Master of the House: Stalin and His Inner Circle, 2008, etc.) delves into the existing body of work surrounding Stalin's life and career to separate fact from fiction, and he crafts a complete picture of a complex man.Read full book review >
MODEL WOMAN by Robert Lacey
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 16, 2015

"A briskly written, unapologetically frank portrait of 'the empress of American modeling—a mixture of Mary Tyler Moore and Barbara Walters, but tougher.'"
How Ford Models rose to power under the auspices of a no-nonsense doyenne. Read full book review >
LAST MAN OFF by Matt Lewis
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 12, 2015

"A darkly exhilarating memoir of tragedy at sea."
A harrowing high-seas, high-stakes adventure where dread pools slowly like the first signs of seawater collecting on the deck of a cursed ship. Read full book review >

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"This overlong book cries out for further pruning of both text and photos (including 32 featuring Moore, many of them head shots), but techies will be delighted with its full treatment of an important figure often overshadowed by such luminaries as Steve Jobs and Larry Ellison."
An authorized biography of the little-known chemist who helped create Silicon Valley. Read full book review >
WORD NERD by John D. Williams, Jr.
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 22, 2015

"An average game with no triple word scores."
The co-author of the bestselling Everything SCRABBLE© returns with a motley collection of anecdotes, advice, and autobiography—all relating, more or less, to the game he loves.Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 15, 2015

"An elegant, pleasantly obsessive study of a 'life of tolerance, humour, serenity and untiring curiosity.'"
A biography of the peerless 17th-century English writer and scientist that finds new relevance in his deeply observant, encyclopedic writings about man and nature. Read full book review >
THE GOLDEN AGE OF MURDER by Martin Edwards
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"Fans of Father Brown, Hercule Poirot, or Lord Peter Wimsey will find much of value in this book—which, though long and sometimes too slow, leaves readers wanting more."
Engrossing if occasionally glacial study of the Detection Club, a gathering of British mystery writers who defined the genre. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 9, 2015

"A potent introduction to a nearly forgotten part of the civil rights movement and a personalized reminder of what it was truly about."
A powerful memoir of the civil rights movement, specifically the dramatic struggle to integrate the schools in Prince Edward County, Virginia. Read full book review >
THE WORLD'S LARGEST MAN by Harrison Scott Key
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 12, 2015

"An uncommonly entertaining story replete with consistent wit and lethal weaponry."
Oxford American humor columnist Key (English/Savannah Coll. of Art and Design) pens a memoir about his father, a man with "the emotional tenderness of a Soviet farm tractor." Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 2, 2015

"Nevertheless, this is a captivating portrait of the struggle between labor and capital during a formative period in the quest for workers' rights."
One of the most influential Americans you never heard of rides the crest of a labor uprising in Gilded Age New York City. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Bill Browder
author of RED NOTICE
March 24, 2015

Bill Browder’s Red Notice is a nonfiction political thriller about an American financier in the Wild East of Russia, the murder of his principled young tax attorney, and his mission to expose the Kremlin’s corruption. In 2007, a group of Russian law enforcement officers raided Browder’s offices in Moscow and stole $230 million of taxes that his fund’s companies had paid to the Russian government. Browder’s attorney Sergei Magnitsky investigated the incident and uncovered a sprawling criminal enterprise. A month after Sergei testified against the officials involved, he was arrested and thrown into pre-trial detention, where he was tortured for a year. On November 16, 2009, he was led to an isolation chamber, handcuffed to a bedrail, and beaten to death by eight guards in full riot gear. “It may be that ‘Russian stories never have happy endings,’ ” our reviewer writes about Red Notice, “but Browder’s account more than compensates by ferociously unmasking Putin’s thugocracy.” View video >