Biography & Memoir Book Reviews (page 5)

BRUCE LEE by Matthew Polly
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 5, 2018

"Students of martial arts, film history, and the 1970s alike will find much to enjoy in Polly's homage."
Spirited celebration of the life of "the Patron Saint of Kung Fu," a stalwart of pop culture whose career is due for a revival. Read full book review >
MY GIRLS by Todd Fisher
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 5, 2018

"Fans of Reynolds and Fisher should be pleased by this satisfyingly rich look at their lives, in which the shocking bits are always mitigated by love and understanding."
In an even-keeled and affectionate memoir, the son of Debbie Reynolds and brother of Carrie Fisher looks back on a life with two feisty women, who died within a day of each other in December 2016. Read full book review >

SICK by Porochista Khakpour
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 5, 2018

"A courageously intimate memoir about living within a body that has 'never felt at ease.'"
A distinguished Iranian-born writer and creative writing professor's memoir of her struggle with trauma, drug addiction, mental illness, and late-stage Lyme disease. Read full book review >
THE TELL by Linda I.  Meyers
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 5, 2018

"A touching, angry, humorous, and engaging account of a turbulent life."
A debut memoir excavates the secrets and multigenerational dysfunctions of a family. Read full book review >
UNSTOPPABLE by Betsy  Craig
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 5, 2018

"An autobiographical reflection that's more consistently inspiring than informative."
A CEO distills 10 spiritual principles that she says paved the way for her success. Read full book review >

A MARRIAGE IN DOG YEARS by Nancy Balbirer
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 2018

"A flawed but well-intentioned, genuine memoir."
Stage- and screenwriter and performer Balbirer (Take Your Shirt Off and Cry: A Memoir of Near-Fame Experiences, 2009) interweaves the story of her marriage with that of her beloved dog. Read full book review >
THE WIND IN MY HAIR by Masih Alinejad
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 2018

"Alinejad's account provides a timely glimpse behind the Iranian curtain."
Pointed memoir by an Iranian journalist who has been a longtime advocate of women's rights in the Islamic republic. Read full book review >
NEVER STOP WALKING by Christina Rickardsson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 2018

"A thought-provoking and humane memoir of survival and self-discovery."
A Brazilian-born Swedish woman's account of childhood poverty and reconciling her early trauma with her experiences in adulthood. Read full book review >
SO CLOSE TO BEING THE SH*T, Y'ALL DON'T EVEN KNOW by Retta
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 2018

"A humorous memoir that will please the author's many fans and followers."
A playful romp through the psyche of a funny woman. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 2018

"A quirky, novelistic tour as much about the author as Jerusalem."
A memoir of a year spent in the Old City in the heart of today's Jerusalem. Read full book review >
THE PRESIDENTS AND THE PASTIME by Curt Smith
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 2018

"Informative and amusing, but readers hoping for a brisk and engaging history of the relationship between baseball and the presidency will be disappointed."
An exhaustive look at the relationship between the chief executive of the United States and baseball. Read full book review >
FOR SINGLE MOTHERS WORKING AS TRAIN CONDUCTORS by Laura Esther Wolfson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 2018

"An impressive literary debut."
A translator's command of language belatedly finds her translating her own life. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Katey Sagal
author of GRACE NOTES
April 10, 2017

In her memoir Grace Notes, actress and singer/songwriter Katey Sagal takes you through the highs and lows of her life, from the tragic deaths of her parents to her long years in the Los Angeles rock scene, from being diagnosed with cancer at the age of twenty-eight to getting her big break on the fledgling FOX network as the wise-cracking Peggy Bundy on the beloved sitcom Married…with Children. Sparse and poetic, Grace Notes is an emotionally riveting tale of struggle and success, both professional and personal: Sagal’s path to sobriety; the stillbirth of her first daughter, Ruby; motherhood; the experience of having her third daughter at age 52 with the help of a surrogate; and her lifelong passion for music. “While this book is sure to please the author’s many fans, its thoughtful, no-regrets honesty will no doubt also appeal to readers of Hollywood memoirs seeking substance that goes beyond gossip and name-dropping,” our critic writes. “A candid, reflective memoir.” View video >