Biography & Memoir Book Reviews (page 6)

WHEN THE BALLS DROP by Brad Garrett
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"Garrett's celebrity status and comic take on the second half of life will draw readers in, but his occasionally hateful diatribes might put some of them off."
A clarion call to men pushing 50 from "an optimistic pessimist." Read full book review >
BROADCAST HYSTERIA by A. Brad Schwartz
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"An entertaining assessment of a watershed moment in American life and its lasting effect on popular culture."
A skeptical look at the panic that might have been. Read full book review >

THE WRIGHT BROTHERS by David McCullough
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"An educational and inspiring biography of seminal American innovators."
A charmingly pared-down life of the "boys" that grounds their dream of flight in decent character and work ethic. Read full book review >
AFTER THE DANCE by Jan Gaye
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"A fascinating, unsentimental account of a be-careful-what-you-wish-for romance."
The long-suffering wife of Marvin Gaye (1939-1984) tells the story of her turbulent relationship with the legendary soul singer. Read full book review >
I REGRET NOTHING by Jen Lancaster
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"Occasionally entertaining yet featherweight capers of an overweight woman trying to be cheery and carefree through her middle-age years."
How one woman tackled some of the things on her mid-40s bucket list. Read full book review >

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"Weintraub's research on the prisoners' experiences in the camps is remarkable as he narrates Judy and Frank's heroic tale."
An unusual and moving story of a singular hero among fellow POWs of the Japanese during World War II: a loyal British pointer named Judy. Read full book review >
THE INGENIOUS MR. PYKE by Henry Hemming
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"Fans of Graham Greene and Alan Furst will revel in this well-told true-life story."
An unlikely tale of true espionage by London-based journalist/historian Hemming (Abdulnasser Gharem: Art of Survival, 2012, etc.) in which a nerdy Jewish kid becomes a kind of James Bond.Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"This overlong book cries out for further pruning of both text and photos (including 32 featuring Moore, many of them head shots), but techies will be delighted with its full treatment of an important figure often overshadowed by such luminaries as Steve Jobs and Larry Ellison."
An authorized biography of the little-known chemist who helped create Silicon Valley. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"In addition to World War II buffs, other readers will enjoy the intrigue, back-stabbing, action, and diplomacy in this well-written book."
Attorney Jordan (Brothers, Rivals, Victors: Eisenhower, Patton, Bradley and the Partnership that Drove the Allied Conquest in Europe, 2011, etc.) delivers another page-turning chronicle of World War II.Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"A breezy, bloodless take on a corporate story more colorfully recounted elsewhere."
An insider account of how and why a little cable company in Bristol, Connecticut, became "The Worldwide Leader in Sports." Read full book review >
THE ARGONAUTS by Maggie Nelson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"A book that will challenge readers as much as the author has challenged herself."
A fiercely provocative and intellectually audacious memoir that focuses on motherhood, love and gender fluidity. Read full book review >
THE LIFE OF SAUL BELLOW by Zachary Leader
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 5, 2015

"Will now stand as the definitive Bellow biography."
The author of The Life of Kingsley Amis (2007) returns with the first installment of a two-volume biography of Saul Bellow (1915-2005), winner of the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1976.Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Nelson DeMille
author of RADIANT ANGEL
May 26, 2015

After a showdown with the notorious Yemeni terrorist known as The Panther, in Nelson DeMille’s latest suspense novel Radiant Angel, NYPD detective John Corey has left the Anti-Terrorist Task Force and returned home to New York City, taking a job with the Diplomatic Surveillance Group. Although Corey's new assignment with the DSG-surveilling Russian diplomats working at the U.N. Mission-is thought to be "a quiet end," he is more than happy to be out from under the thumb of the FBI and free from the bureaucracy of office life. But Corey realizes something the U.S. government doesn't: The all-too-real threat of a newly resurgent Russia. “Perfect summer beach reading, with or without margaritas, full of Glock-and-boat action,” our reviewer writes. View video >