Biography & Memoir Book Reviews (page 8)

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2015

"In the hands of a Junger or Krakauer, this story might have taken more memorable form. Still, Vietnam War completists will be interested."
Sometimes-trudging, sometimes-moving narrative of a combat mission gone terribly wrong and the layers of politics and memory surrounding it. Read full book review >
NOTE BOOK by Jeff Nunokawa
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 1, 2015

"An engaging multimedia project offering even more food for thought when translated to the linearity of the printed page."
Literary-based reflections on and of the virtual age. Read full book review >

COMMUNION by Curtis Smith
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 30, 2015

"Other good humans may find inspiration in these humanist homilies."
An essayist muses on faith and fatherhood. Read full book review >
YEAR OF THE COW by Jared Stone
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"Though Stone engages in a few meandering asides and perhaps tries to extract too much meaning from rather prosaic subjects, he nonetheless offers provocative thoughts on our carnivorous history and contemporary options, adding some tantalizing snout-to-tail recipes."
Debut author Stone, Emmy-winning TV producer, wrangles a lively, informative, sometimes-intimate tale from his family's adventure eating a freezer full of beef over two years of culinary and lifestyle change. Read full book review >
FIND THE GOOD by Heather Lende
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"Optimistic, slightly humorous reflections on living a fully engaged, meaningful life."
An unlikely source delivers tidbits on living well. Read full book review >

ANGER IS AN ENERGY by John Lydon
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"A lucid, literate pleasure."
Alternately musical bomb-thrower and contemplator Lydon, aka Johnny Rotten, looks back on a long life of pot-stirring and piss-taking. Read full book review >
THE HAND ON THE MIRROR by Janis Heaphy Durham
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"A haunting and ultimately exasperating memoir leaving more unanswered questions than resolutions."
A widow contemplates the supernatural world after an unexplained series of occurrences. Read full book review >
EINSTEIN by Steven Gimbel
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"A fine, informative life of the renowned scientist."
How science, religion and politics shaped Einstein's life and work. Read full book review >
DANGEROUS WHEN WET by Jamie Brickhouse
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"Unabashedly campy but always candid."
A former New York publishing executive's darkly humorous memoir about the difficult relationship he had with his mother and the alcoholism that came to define his life. Read full book review >
A PASSION FOR PARIS by David Downie
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"Anyone who loves Paris will adore this joyful book. Readers visiting the city are advised to take it with them to discover countless new experiences."
Join Downie (Paris to the Pyrenees: A Skeptic Pilgrim Walks the Way of St. James, 2013, etc.) for a top-notch walking tour of Paris.Read full book review >
THE GOLDEN AGE OF MURDER by Martin Edwards
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"Fans of Father Brown, Hercule Poirot, or Lord Peter Wimsey will find much of value in this book—which, though long and sometimes too slow, leaves readers wanting more."
Engrossing if occasionally glacial study of the Detection Club, a gathering of British mystery writers who defined the genre. Read full book review >
HOPE by Amanda Berry
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 27, 2015

"A nuanced testament to the complexity of the human spirit."
On May 6, 2013, electrifying headlines revealed news of the escape of three young women who had been missing for more than 10 years and presumed dead but were in fact held captive by Ariel Castro, a depraved Cleveland school bus driver. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Nelson DeMille
author of RADIANT ANGEL
May 26, 2015

After a showdown with the notorious Yemeni terrorist known as The Panther, in Nelson DeMille’s latest suspense novel Radiant Angel, NYPD detective John Corey has left the Anti-Terrorist Task Force and returned home to New York City, taking a job with the Diplomatic Surveillance Group. Although Corey's new assignment with the DSG-surveilling Russian diplomats working at the U.N. Mission-is thought to be "a quiet end," he is more than happy to be out from under the thumb of the FBI and free from the bureaucracy of office life. But Corey realizes something the U.S. government doesn't: The all-too-real threat of a newly resurgent Russia. “Perfect summer beach reading, with or without margaritas, full of Glock-and-boat action,” our reviewer writes. View video >