Biography & Memoir Book Reviews (page 9)

THE HAND ON THE MIRROR by Janis Heaphy Durham
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"A haunting and ultimately exasperating memoir leaving more unanswered questions than resolutions."
A widow contemplates the supernatural world after an unexplained series of occurrences. Read full book review >
EINSTEIN by Steven Gimbel
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"A fine, informative life of the renowned scientist."
How science, religion and politics shaped Einstein's life and work. Read full book review >

DANGEROUS WHEN WET by Jamie Brickhouse
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"Unabashedly campy but always candid."
A former New York publishing executive's darkly humorous memoir about the difficult relationship he had with his mother and the alcoholism that came to define his life. Read full book review >
A PASSION FOR PARIS by David Downie
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"Anyone who loves Paris will adore this joyful book. Readers visiting the city are advised to take it with them to discover countless new experiences."
Join Downie (Paris to the Pyrenees: A Skeptic Pilgrim Walks the Way of St. James, 2013, etc.) for a top-notch walking tour of Paris.Read full book review >
THE GOLDEN AGE OF MURDER by Martin Edwards
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 28, 2015

"Fans of Father Brown, Hercule Poirot, or Lord Peter Wimsey will find much of value in this book—which, though long and sometimes too slow, leaves readers wanting more."
Engrossing if occasionally glacial study of the Detection Club, a gathering of British mystery writers who defined the genre. Read full book review >

HOPE by Amanda Berry
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 27, 2015

"A nuanced testament to the complexity of the human spirit."
On May 6, 2013, electrifying headlines revealed news of the escape of three young women who had been missing for more than 10 years and presumed dead but were in fact held captive by Ariel Castro, a depraved Cleveland school bus driver. Read full book review >
HARMATTAN by Michael Jackson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 21, 2015

"A slim but thoughtful rendering of an exotic locale that recalls The Quiet American."
A New Zealand-born philosopher reflects on his years studying an ethnic group in Sierra Leone, weaving in the fictional tale of a young Englishman searching for personal transformation. Read full book review >
SPINSTER by Kate Bolick
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 21, 2015

"A sexy, eloquent, well-written and -researched study/memoir."
An Atlantic contributing editor's refreshingly bold and incisive account of how she came to celebrate her status as a single woman.Read full book review >
KALEIDOSCOPE CITY by Piers Moore Ede
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 21, 2015

"A thoughtful and incisive memoir/travelogue."
A British travel writer's account of an extended stay in the northern Indian city of Varanasi, a 5,000-year-old "experiment in human cohabitation" on the banks of the Ganges River. Read full book review >
LISTENING TO STONE by Hayden Herrera
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 21, 2015

"Although reticent about putting forth her own insights about her subject's mind and heart, Herrera gives readers an ample, thorough analysis of his estimable art."
A comprehensive biography of a sculptor of stone and space. Read full book review >
ORSON WELLES'S LAST MOVIE by Josh Karp
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 21, 2015

"Luckily, there's nothing unfinished in Karp's retelling. He follows every story, dollar and last legal battle in full detail. Whether the film sees a 2015 release on the anniversary of Welles' birth, as was speculated as of late last year, we at least have Karp to thank for the next best thing."
What became of The Other Side of the Wind, that crazy movie that took up the last 15 years of the life of Orson Welles (1915-1985)?Read full book review >
MAN IN PROFILE by Thomas Kunkel
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: April 21, 2015

"Kunkel cannot solve the mystery, but he offers a finely delineated portrait of the man."
The strange trajectory of one writer's career. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Nelson DeMille
author of RADIANT ANGEL
May 26, 2015

After a showdown with the notorious Yemeni terrorist known as The Panther, in Nelson DeMille’s latest suspense novel Radiant Angel, NYPD detective John Corey has left the Anti-Terrorist Task Force and returned home to New York City, taking a job with the Diplomatic Surveillance Group. Although Corey's new assignment with the DSG-surveilling Russian diplomats working at the U.N. Mission-is thought to be "a quiet end," he is more than happy to be out from under the thumb of the FBI and free from the bureaucracy of office life. But Corey realizes something the U.S. government doesn't: The all-too-real threat of a newly resurgent Russia. “Perfect summer beach reading, with or without margaritas, full of Glock-and-boat action,” our reviewer writes. View video >