Biography & Memoir Book Reviews (page 978)

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Despite having been immortalized with such glorious absurdity on TV, Franks still doesn't seem entirely aware of how silly she can appear."
Franks, the public-relations entrepreneur whose driven personality inspired the character Edwina on the TV comedy Absolutely Fabulous, contributes to a growing New Age genre: the Disillusioned Successful Woman's Memoir. Read full book review >
A MONK SWIMMING by Malachy McCourt
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Malachy is the entertainer in the family, but Frank is the writer. (Book-of- the-Month/Quality Paperback Book Club selection; author tour)"
Malachy picks up the family story—well, his part of it anyway—where older brother Frank left off in Angela's Ashes. Read full book review >

A BEAUTIFUL MIND by Sylvia Nasar
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Impressively researched and detailed, but still fails to shed much light on the mysteries of genius and insanity."
A biography about a mathematical genius who suffered from schizophrenia, miraculously recovered, and later received the Nobel Prize in 1994. Read full book review >
FAMILY MAN by Calvin Trillin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"He lives up to the book's title."
Trillin (Messages from My Father, 1996; Too Soon to Tell, 1995; etc.), ace reporter and effortless humorist that he is, turns to a decidedly domestic theme, uxorious and lovingly parental, in the latest of his score of entertaining texts. Read full book review >
ROOM SERVICE by Richard Swartz
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"These 16 essays occupy that rare place where journalism becomes literature and where impressionistic portraits of individuals artfully convey the spirit of their time and place."
Swartz's masterful travel writing/journalism—in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Ryszard Kapuscinski—brings us closer to a true feel for the essence of Eastern Europe, as well as human frailty. Read full book review >

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Perhaps not quite."
A minor, triflingly amusing memoir by the British journalist best known for being Evelyn Waugh's son. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"For good Hamptons gossip, read Steven Gaines's Philistines at the Hedgerow (p. 631). (16 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
The author of Buckingham Babylon (1993) exposes more sin and scandal, in the usual tabloid way. Read full book review >
EQUAL JUSTICE UNDER LAW by Constance Baker Motley
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Not a great book in its own right, but certainly of interest for the student of the civil rights movement. (24 b&w photos, not seen)"
Unfortunately, the impact of an autobiographer's writing style may not match that of his or her life. Read full book review >
HERE BUT NOT HERE by Lillian Ross
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Both too quirky and too chatty; Ross is at her best when sticking to writers, writing, and Shawn's editing. (b&w photos, not seen)"
An informative if scattershot account by Ross (Takes,1983, etc.) of her 40-year romance with New Yorker editor William Shawn. Read full book review >
COOLIDGE by Robert Sobel
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Most readers will find it difficult to stifle a yawn."
If Coolidge were alive, he would see no reason to say this much about himself. Read full book review >
JAMES WHALE by James Curtis
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 29, 1998

"While this is not an in-depth, psychologically rich biography, and Curtis's writing tends to be wooden, as an account of Whale's work, it is first-rate. (60 b&w photos)"
A well-crafted, detailed biography of the director of such classics as Frankenstein, The Invisible Man, and the 1936 version of Showboat. Read full book review >
SIMON & GARFUNKEL by Victoria Kingston
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 29, 1998

"As throughout, the author's worshipful distance combines with both of her subjects— admirable disdain for airing dirty laundry to produce only the most glancing insights. (8 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
With childlike adoration and prose to match, a British radio host and newspaper columnist has a go at Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel's intertwined careers. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Laini Taylor
March 27, 2017

In bestselling YA writer Laini Taylor’s new fantasy novel, Strange the Dreamer, the dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around—and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he's been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it would take someone bolder than he to cross half the world in search of it. Then a stunning opportunity presents itself, in the person of a hero called the Godslayer and a band of legendary warriors, and he has to seize his chance to lose his dream forever. What happened in Weep two hundred years ago to cut it off from the rest of the world? What exactly did the Godslayer slay that went by the name of god? And what is the mysterious problem he now seeks help in solving? “Lovers of intricate worldbuilding and feverish romance will find this enthralling,” our critic writes. View video >