Biography & Memoir Book Reviews (page 985)

A MONK SWIMMING by Malachy McCourt
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Malachy is the entertainer in the family, but Frank is the writer. (Book-of- the-Month/Quality Paperback Book Club selection; author tour)"
Malachy picks up the family story—well, his part of it anyway—where older brother Frank left off in Angela's Ashes. Read full book review >
A BEAUTIFUL MIND by Sylvia Nasar
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Impressively researched and detailed, but still fails to shed much light on the mysteries of genius and insanity."
A biography about a mathematical genius who suffered from schizophrenia, miraculously recovered, and later received the Nobel Prize in 1994. Read full book review >

FAMILY MAN by Calvin Trillin
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"He lives up to the book's title."
Trillin (Messages from My Father, 1996; Too Soon to Tell, 1995; etc.), ace reporter and effortless humorist that he is, turns to a decidedly domestic theme, uxorious and lovingly parental, in the latest of his score of entertaining texts. Read full book review >
ROOM SERVICE by Richard Swartz
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"These 16 essays occupy that rare place where journalism becomes literature and where impressionistic portraits of individuals artfully convey the spirit of their time and place."
Swartz's masterful travel writing/journalism—in the tradition of Bruce Chatwin and Ryszard Kapuscinski—brings us closer to a true feel for the essence of Eastern Europe, as well as human frailty. Read full book review >
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Perhaps not quite."
A minor, triflingly amusing memoir by the British journalist best known for being Evelyn Waugh's son. Read full book review >

BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"For good Hamptons gossip, read Steven Gaines's Philistines at the Hedgerow (p. 631). (16 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
The author of Buckingham Babylon (1993) exposes more sin and scandal, in the usual tabloid way. Read full book review >
EQUAL JUSTICE UNDER LAW by Constance Baker Motley
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Not a great book in its own right, but certainly of interest for the student of the civil rights movement. (24 b&w photos, not seen)"
Unfortunately, the impact of an autobiographer's writing style may not match that of his or her life. Read full book review >
HERE BUT NOT HERE by Lillian Ross
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Both too quirky and too chatty; Ross is at her best when sticking to writers, writing, and Shawn's editing. (b&w photos, not seen)"
An informative if scattershot account by Ross (Takes,1983, etc.) of her 40-year romance with New Yorker editor William Shawn. Read full book review >
COOLIDGE by Robert Sobel
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: June 1, 1998

"Most readers will find it difficult to stifle a yawn."
If Coolidge were alive, he would see no reason to say this much about himself. Read full book review >
JAMES WHALE by James Curtis
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 29, 1998

"While this is not an in-depth, psychologically rich biography, and Curtis's writing tends to be wooden, as an account of Whale's work, it is first-rate. (60 b&w photos)"
A well-crafted, detailed biography of the director of such classics as Frankenstein, The Invisible Man, and the 1936 version of Showboat. Read full book review >
SIMON & GARFUNKEL by Victoria Kingston
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 29, 1998

"As throughout, the author's worshipful distance combines with both of her subjects— admirable disdain for airing dirty laundry to produce only the most glancing insights. (8 pages b&w photos, not seen)"
With childlike adoration and prose to match, a British radio host and newspaper columnist has a go at Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel's intertwined careers. Read full book review >
SELECTED LETTERS OF SERGEI PROKOFIEV by Harlow Robinson
BIOGRAPHY & MEMOIR
Released: May 29, 1998

"Readers should, however, make up their own minds about his politics."
An entertaining and useful selection of Prokofiev's correspondence with prominent figures in Soviet and ÇmigrÇ art, dance, and music circles that brims with the composer's personality and literary style. Read full book review >
Kirkus Interview
Clinton Kelly
January 9, 2017

Bestselling author and television host Clinton Kelly’s memoir I Hate Everyone Except You is a candid, deliciously snarky collection of essays about his journey from awkward kid to slightly-less-awkward adult. Clinton Kelly is probably best known for teaching women how to make their butts look smaller. But in I Hate Everyone, Except You, he reveals some heretofore-unknown secrets about himself, like that he’s a finicky connoisseur of 1980s pornography, a disillusioned critic of New Jersey’s premier water parks, and perhaps the world’s least enthused high-school commencement speaker. Whether he’s throwing his baby sister in the air to jumpstart her cheerleading career or heroically rescuing his best friend from death by mud bath, Clinton leaps life’s social hurdles with aplomb. With his signature wit, he shares his unique ability to navigate the stickiest of situations, like deciding whether it’s acceptable to eat chicken wings with a fork on live television (spoiler: it’s not). “A thoroughly light and entertaining memoir,” our critic writes. View video >